We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, Friendly Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Briars

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Briars
Ranked #13 of 100 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great, Friendly Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend have just returned for a 2 nights bank holiday stay at The Briars and we loved it. The location is perfect, right by the sea front and the rooms are lovely with lots of nice touches to make it very homely. The full English breakfast is amazing too and a great start to the day.
The owners are the most helpful and friendly I have experienced in any hotel (and I've stayed in a fair few) and they will help you with anything.
I fully recommend staying here, for great location and service.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlT1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
97
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

The Briars is a really lovely Guest House with all the front bedrooms giving fantastic sea views across the bay. We have just returned home after our third visit. Mandy and Malcolm are the perfect Hosts: nothing is ever too much trouble and they are there to welcome you with the offer of taking your luggage to your room. They really have thought of everything. The rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean, as are the tea/coffee making facilities. There's central heating if you're cold, and a heated towel rail in the bath/shower room. If you're too hot, Mandy and Malcolm will supply you with a fan. There is a water filter machine in the dining room with cold water on tap until late evening. Breakfasts are excellent, all freshly prepared, with a nice selection of cerials, fruit, yogurts, juice, and toast. Mandy's cooking really sets you up for the day! If you don't want to rush out, there is a lovely lounge overlooking the bay. If you fancy a drink in the evening there is a bar next door to the lounge. The Briars is close to the beach, and only a few minutes walk from the town, buses, and trains. We would recommend The Briars to anyone. You might arrive as guests but when you leave, it's like saying goodbye to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinderford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

We've now stayed at this hotel several times for both short breaks and week long stays. The rooms are very tastefully decorated with pleasant finishing touches. The rooms are very clean, beds very comfortable, bathrooms have nice fluffy towels.
The breakfast was first class with a nice range of cereals, fruits and of course the full English.
Mandy and Malcom are the prefect hosts and always make us feel very welcome with nothing being too much trouble.
The whole place had a very welcoming and homely feel to it. With a lovely front lounge and bar that faces onto the sea front to send relaxing evenings in.
The location is prefect, a few yards to the sea front and completly flat making an excellent destination for all ages. There are plenty of first class restuarants within easy walking distance.
On the whole I would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly for anyone wishing to visit the English Riveria.
Andy and Ann.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms available for those not wishing to use stairs. Also excellent sea views for rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

it was a very warm welcome upon arrival mandy and Malcolm made us feel at home nothing was too much trouble for them the kids was looked after too food was awesome rooms really lovely best place ive stayed in for a long time, quality, and cant wait to return would recommend to all friends and familys to go and stay it made our weekend awesome

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzz284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

The briars was the perfect location for me and my family. The hosts catered to every individual need if me and my family! The location is brilliant as you are not o far away from the beach front or eating out establishments, brilliant place to stay would recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knox_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Lovely homely atmosphere,spotlessly clean, fantastic breakfast with plenty of choice. Nothing was too much trouble for Malcolm and Mandy, they catered to our every need. Our room had a fantastic view and every amenity,lots of space and great shower room. Plenty to do in the paignton area. We had a really friendly ,happy stay and will definately stay there again and reccommend this hotel to others

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicar64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Lovely hotel right on the seafront close to restaurants, bars and all Paignton attractions. Welcoming hosts Mandy and Malcolm make you feel like one of the family. The whole hotel is tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Rooms are comfortable, have a great shower, TV and DVD player and tea/coffee/refreshment facilities. Great views, a lovely sunny patio to relax and read a book. Great hot breakfast made to order and your choice or fruit, cereal and juices. Bar open in the evenings for a tipple. Had a wonderful stay, would recommend to all.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Lodge
Blue Waters Lodge
#2 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Belle Dene Guest House
Belle Dene Guest House
#4 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#5 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cherry Tree Hotel
Cherry Tree Hotel
#19 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briars

Property: Briars
Address: 26 Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Briars 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star silver award guest accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Briars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briars Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing