We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic - Cannot Fault”
Review of Briars

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Briars
Ranked #14 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Fantastic - Cannot Fault”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights with children and was made to feel so welcome, the hotel is spotless and malcolm and mandy are both lovely, the breakfast was amazing and you can ask for anything you want, will 110% be returning again, thank you

Room Tip: The sea view room has an amazing view out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briars248, Owner at Briars, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your short break with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
101
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have stayed in many hotels and accommodations all round the world.The Briars is by far the most comfortable, clean, and welcoming atmosphere I have ever visited.. I am a bit disabled and thank Malcolm and Mandy for all their help in making my holiday such a wonderfull experience. Brilliant Breakfast sets me up for the day, then off on a steam train /ferry trip to Dartmouth, Torquay, Brixham . Or, head for the beach (100yds) Harbour, a little further. Includes ferry terminal and Fishing trips. close by,Or wander round the shops and then take refreshments in one of the many restuarants inns and cafes close by.
No hills to contend with, easy accessor just to buses and trains. Everything for everyone. I come here 3 or 4 times a year and always thoroughly enjoy myself. Old, young,or just young at heart , this is the place .for you.
An unbeatable holiday experience.

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent, some have views of beach and sea front etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MageeCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briars248, Owner at Briars, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
It is always nice to have you stay with us and we appreciate your kind comments. Look forward to your next visit in September!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is a very well run establishment .The owners give a personal service which is delivered in a happy and cheerful way . Any staff that is employed work in the same manner. The hotel's situation , just off the sea front , with views across the bay is ideal for all amenities.Altogether a most enjoyable experience .

Room Tip: Sea - view availability
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briars248, Owner at Briars, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your 2 weeks with us and hopefully next time you visit the briars we will be able to offer you a sea view room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Cheer's Malc and Mandy for yet another fab stay at The Briars we had a great week checking out all the different places to visit ie, Torquay by the ferry from Paignton , everyone should try that it was quite an experience,Brixham was also a very pretty harbour to visit. Also lots of nice places to eat in the evenings. All in all a great time had by all,thanks again C u both soon.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Morgan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briars248, Manager at Briars, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us we look forward to seeing you all soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We throughly enjoyed our weekend away at the briars. In a brilliant location with lots of things to see and do close by. Malcolm and Mandy are excellent hosts and made us feel very welcome. Very friendly and warm service and delicious breakfast!!! Would most definitely stay again! Thank you for such a lovely stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briars248, Owner at Briars, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments we are pleased you enjoyed your weekend away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

If you are looking for a B & B in the Torbay area, then whatever your requirement, this is the place to stay. All the boxes are ticked to make your experience pleasurable. The location is superb and within easy reach of all amenities. The room was clean and well equipped and stocked daily as you would expect in a high class establishment, it was also peaceful and quiet when returning from a hectic day touring the sites. The hosts are very helpful and accommodating they are also good company, their knowledge of the area should be tapped into to make your quest complete and fulfilled until your next trip back, because you will return, one short glance at the visitors book will inform you that all guests return, When you find the best you stop looking.
Breakfast is a fantastic experience, the full English is legendary, too full for a long stay perhaps but there are plenty of options for different diets and appetites.
Many thanks for an enjoyable holday, see you again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briars248, Owner at Briars, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
It is always lovely to hear when guests have enjoyed their holiday with us and we appreciate your kind comments and it is a pleasure to welcome returning guests to The Briars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

stayed here with work, and what a fantastic choice.
I can't recommend this place enough.
It's got everything, great location, fantastic breakfast, wonderful staff, and peaceful just when you need it to be.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briars248, Owner at Briars, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your kind comments. If your work brings you to Paignton again it would be a pleasure to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.0 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#17 of 17 in Paignton
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#8 of 17 in Paignton
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briars

Property: Briars
Address: 26 Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Briars 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star silver award guest accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Briars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briars Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing