We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place tostay”
Review of Briars

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Briars
Ranked #16 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Having read a lot of reviews for this Bed and Breakfast, my wife, her father and I were not disappointed. We have stayed in Paignton before but not at this B & B. The first nice touch was a phone call we received a couple of days before our arrival - to establish what time we were to arrive, so they could be ready to meet us. True to their word, when we arrived on Saturday both Malcolm and Mandy were there to meet us and go through the booking procedure. Mandy also offered to show us to our rooms and Malcolm assisted in bringing up our luggage ( something very often missed by outher hoteliers ). This B & B lived up to the fine reputation it has.The room was very clean and well furnished with a comfortable bed, tea making facilities, hair-dryer, clock radio and digital TV -to name but a few things. The breakfast was fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. Malcolm is the front of house, being an ex-publican and Mandy does the cooking ( all breakfasts are cooked fresh ) and also assists with the cleaning. There were two young ladies ( Daniel and Tasha ) who served breakfast on some of the days. There was a great choice of cereals and other options before the main course - which you can also choose what to have. We had room 3 ( which is a small double treated as a single ) which has a rear facing view. The other room was 9, which has spectacular views of the sea front. One small issue with room 9, which Malcolm and Mandy full acknowledge, is the very small bathroom. However this room will be refurbished in the Autumn. Car Parking is provided and it is only a brief walk to the harbour, sea front and town centre. My father-in-law is 83 and could do these walks - so they really are that close. The web site offers the option to look at all the rooms before booking and there are superior rooms on the first floor. The hospitality was excellent and we would definitely stay here again. Great B & B.

Room Tip: Room 9 has a very small bathroom but an excellent view of sea front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briars248, Owner at Briars, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Briars and would like to thank you for your lovely comments it is appreciated. It would be great to see you all again next time you holiday in Paignton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

From the moment of arrival, when Mandy came out to help me and greeted me by name to the moment we left we were made to feel welcome.

The Briars hotel is in a lovely position looking along the esplanade. Lovely sea views over towards the pier and Torquay beyond. It was an easy walk to the beautiful harbour, town, bus and railway stations.

The breakfasts were excellent. The selection catered for all tastes - can definitely recommend the cooked breakfast which is all made fresh. Having a choice of cereals and fresh fruit too. (The dining room is down stairs below entrance level).

Everything in the hotel was spotlessly clean.

Little touches like being able to help yourself to cold filtered water was great - especially when it had been so hot.

The hotel has parking (front and back) which was great.

There is also a lounge area, bar and patio seating.

When I first saw my room and bathroom I thought it was really small, however it worked and I was perfectly comfortable. (Not totally sure there would have been enough room in that particular room if there were 2 of us).

There is wifi but it was intermittent - not a huge problem though.

Would I stay there again - yes - the position and warm, friendly relaxed feeling make it a must to stay in.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AS185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briars248, Owner at Briars, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for all you lovely comments especially about the breakfast. We agree that the room you stayed in(room 10) is on the small side however it is very popular with returning couples due to its fantastic sea view across the bay but we only use it as a double if we have to. We are pleased you and your family had a lovely time and it was nice meeting you and we will look forward to seeing you all in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was our first time at the Briars, staying for one week in July) and we hadn't been to Paignton in years. We were made very welcome by Malcolm and Mandy. We booked late, so room availability was limited. Our room was on the 2nd floor (Room 09) and we weren't disappointed. Although the bathroom was smaller than in the other rooms, it was very clean, as was the room which was also very comfortable with 2 large windows with a fantastic seaview. The breakfasts were great with a large choice of cereals, fruit etc and Mandy cooks a fantastic full English.

The location of the Briars is perfect. Parking can be a problem in Paignton, but there is ample on site parking at the front/rear of the Briars. We didn't need to use the car all week. The train and bus stations were within easy walking distance, as was the steam railway.

We had a brilliant holiday and recommend the Briars as the perfect place to stay in Paignton.

There are plenty of eating places close by. We also found a great pub called The Half Moon which is located on Torquay Road, Preston. It has been renovated, is very friendly and do fantastic home cooked food day/evening. Although only 5 minutes away by car, we took a leisurely walk and made an evening of it.

Carolyn & Terry G from Doncaster

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briars248, Owner at Briars, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your weeks holiday with us and enjoyed the fantastic view from your room. It was a real pleasure meeting you both and it would be lovely to see you both again should you holiday in the area in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at Briars in July as it was a central location and within walking distance of the station as John had booked a steam train footplate experience from paignton to kingswear. Very friendly atmosphere at Briars and we were made to feel comfortable. Breakfast was great and the full English was served extremely hot which is a plus. The only small negative point I would make is that our room and bathroom needed updating but having said that it was cleaned and tidied ever day. Malcolm and Mandy are great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briars248, Owner at Briars, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

We are pleased you had a comfortable stay with us and really enjoyed your breakfast. However we are sorry that you felt the room and bathroom needed updating but the ensuite was only upgraded and retiled to 4 star standard 3 years ago and unfortunately due to financial constraints and having 12 rooms we are not in a position to upgrade bathrooms more frequently. The family room which you were in as a twin was also redecorated and new curtains fitted at the same time. However we will take these comments on board. It was lovely meeting you both and we hope to see you both in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is our second visit, having been so impressed on our first trip that we had to stay again. The location is very convenient for the beach and shops, pubs and entertainment. Rooms were very clean and comfortable and Malcolm and Mandy made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts are amazing, catering for all tastes, and they went out of their way to provide a special breakfast for my sister, who is gluten intolerant, even preparing a gluten-free sandwich for her for the journey home. Will definitely be booking for next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CliffCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briars248, Owner at Briars, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

It was lovely to see you both again and we would like to thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you both again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We are going back to The Briars in August as we had such a marvelous stay in June. Malcolm and Mandy made us feel more like family than guests, nothing was too much trouble for them.
The rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable, also tastefully decorated. Mandys breakfasts must be the best in Paignton(if not the world). The view to wake up to in the morning was a lovely way to start the day and the company in the evening was a perfect way to end it. There are lots of fantastic places to explore in the area, altogether a perfect holiday. Thank you Malcom amd Mandy, we will see you soon.

Room Tip: Front rooms have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicar64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briars248, Owner at Briars, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Your lovely comments are really appreciated. We are so pleased tbat you enjoyed your stay with us at The Briars and we enjoyed your company. It is always nice when guests choose to spend a little time in tbe guest lounge and bar as it gives us a chance to get to know them, they arrive as guests and leave as friends . Look forward to seeing you both in August.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Exceptionally clean and comfortable room. Best breakfast ever. Close to many places of interest. We had a delicious evening meal in the Harbour restaurant close by. Would definitely return to The Briars if holidaying in the Paignton area.

Room Tip: Suggest to ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briars248, Owner at Briars, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for your kind comments it would be a pleasure to see you both again if you should visit tge area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#12 of 17 in Paignton
77 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#17 of 17 in Paignton
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belle Dene Guest House
Belle Dene Guest House
#2 of 96 in Paignton
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol House
Bristol House
#65 of 96 in Paignton
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briars

Address: 26 Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: £60 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Briars 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star silver award guest accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Briars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briars Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing