We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional Tea Room with white table cloths and waitress service”

Lily's Restaurant and Tea Rooms
Ranked #46 of 181 Restaurants in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A quintessential English tearooms - complete with clientele!
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Traditional Tea Room with white table cloths and waitress service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were looking for somewhere to have lunch away from the seafront and came across lily's, this is a delightful Tea Room / Restaurant with the look of Betty's of Harrogate, the staff were attentive and the food was very good, I had Fish and Chips and my Wife had a Prawn Sandwich.
It's nice to find this type of establishment rather that just another cafe.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    14
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“JUST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Just what we needed for our elevenes a Devon cream tea @ 10 oclock pleasantl served YUMMY we could have had a super meal there but we had other things to see & do will we go there again FOR SURE YYYYYYYYYEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSS please.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank COLIN E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice & friendly tea rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Popped in on a day out in Paignton whilst on holiday in Torquay. Menu choice was good, staff were very pleasant and food was above average and reasonably priced. My youngest child was very fussy about how she wanted her poached eggs but that was no problem (chef came out to chat to her and confirm) and it was just perfect for her. The chef also came round to check everything was ok with all the customers and have a general chat which was nice. I'd definitely go again and would strongly recommend it to anyone visiting the area

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sulley92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Day trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Lovely and unexpected find.
Very friendly and prompt service. Food great and atmosphere very relaxing
A real treat on our day trip to Paignton

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevg234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food pleasant surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

The food is always of a good standard. My friend and I eat their every couple of months. The service is good and friendly - nothing is too much trouble. Its a pleasant atmosphere. it does get busy but I have not had a bad experience yet.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lily's Restaurant and Tea Rooms also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Lily's Restaurant and Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing