We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a surprise!”

Lily's Restaurant and Tea Rooms
Ranked #42 of 185 Restaurants in Paignton
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A quintessential English tearooms - complete with clientele!
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Such a surprise!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I must admit, I have passed this place by so many times, as it is not somewhere I would have ever ventured in to. I am so glad I listened to my wife, as this is an absoulte gem. We just stopped for a light lunch. The menu has plenty of choices. Yes, the mood is very sedate, but sometimes, peace and quiet is all you want....

Service was quick, and the sandwiches were fresh and tasty. The prices are very good.

We had hoped to go back and enjoy the two course lunch, but it never happened - something to look forward to next time.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    14
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent tea room and have superb lunch.”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Been to this place many times and they are very excellent and fresh food cooked every day also delicious. Hone made cakes. Prices are reasonable and do children's as well, lunchtime special price for roast dinners and one or two course. Plus lovely wine list and soft drinks. A splendid place to chat and meet friends over coffee. Very clean and comfortable .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PumaSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Traditional tearoom”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Have visited lily s many times and always good service and good food , the lunches are reasonably priced with plenty of choices and always fresh vegetables , this is a typical tearoom with plenty of cakes and homemade scones all delicious ! The staff are friendly and efficient , it's a busy tearoom , always a good sign ! well worth a visit in the heart if paignton centre

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely spot of lunch”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Came into the tea rooms for some lunch. We ordered two cream teas, scone & Jam, 2 pots of decaff tea for two, Appletiser, small chips & bread & flora.
the tables were nicely presented and clean & staff were very welcoming. When drinks arrived they were presented on silver trays with doileys and also the food was presented on plates with doileys and napkins that had been folded so beautifully. All the food tasted lovely and made to order.
The toilets were also very clean although no disabled they do have grab bars going up to the ladies. Maybe need some grab bars in the toilets for those that are disabled.
own downside was that had noise from the road but could not close the door as was so warm.
Overall a lovely little tearoom with friendly and welcoming staff. Very decently priced for what you get from table service. Def will be coming back

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemzap84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Cream tea as it was meant to be”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Having a free day I decided to find a more local cream tea - normally I use others but those all involved travelling and I had had enough travelling on the other days. Recalled seeing this very quaint and traditional tea rooms and restaurant and decided to give it a whirl. I will certainly go again - opted for the fruit scones (two), which were quite simply the best Devon cream tea I have ever had. Staff were attentive, friendly, and efficient, bending over backwards to see to other customers' requirements.

Shall certainly be going again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lily's Restaurant and Tea Rooms also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Lily's Restaurant and Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing