We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Jacaranda Guest House
Ranked #47 of 97 Paignton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 July 2014

returned home from the Jacaranda 29th june after a wonderful 3 night break, we travelled as 3 adults (1 adult on a months visit from Thailand). Rooms were very clean,bright,had a very comfortable bed and a well stocked hospitality tray, the shower room had the hottest water we have ever had in a hotel. Breakfast really did set us up for the day, good choice of cereal, a hot and plentiful cooked breakfast, toast and tea/coffee.We would not hesitate to return which hopefully will be soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynandmike20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Lovely Bed & Breakfast, Amanda & Barry were the perfect hosts.
The breakfast is second to none and best we have had for a long time, we now need to run a marathon to lose a few calories:) Very comfy beds. We were belssed with the weather also which always makes for a great weekend. Thanks for looking after us :)

Room Tip: Room 8 is on third floor so quite a few stairs to climb. Parking not an issue as the hosts provide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Amanda and Barry were excellent hosts, this was our second time going to the jacaranda and have no regrets again. The room is clean and perfect for me and my fiancé, the breakfast was out on time and certainly had us ready for the day. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a place to go if staying in paignton. everything is just like it would be in a five star hotel. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing, handy for families or just couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Pleasant little B&B ideally located off the Paignton seafront, not on the main road which is good to be away from the noise of the through road; although within 5 mins walk of the beach and local attractions.

Parking, like with most of the local B&Bs is limited to restricted road parking, and policed by an army of traffic wardens, but we were offered by our hosts the opportunity to buy a weekly parking permit for the multi-story carpark 1 min from the hotel door, which saved us a considerable amount of cash on daily parking fees.

We chose one of the smaller rooms on the top floor, and as we were only there for the evenings it was amply sized, comfortable and lovely place to rest your head.

Our hosts were friendly and welcoming with a "come and go as you please" attitude which such unrestrictions is what you want on holiday!

Would happily return!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michaeldgibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This was the first holiday that me and my fiance went on together. Really bonded us both and plan on coming back again. Perfect position as it is only two minute walk to the beach and the pier and shops are only five minutes up the road. Breakfast was beautiful and orange juice was just the thing for the morning drink

Room Tip: Any room is great, land lady will take care of you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed at the Jacaranda for 2 nights on the 22nd and 23rd of November. Amanda and Barry were lovely, welcoming people and cook an awesome breakfast. The B&B feels like home away from home. Situated just 5 minutes away from lots of pubs, the Peer, shops and amusements. I can't recommend it highly enough, we're going back again next year and I'm already looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

A lovely guest house in a perfect location. The Jacaranda is highly recommended for mini breaks or longer (wish we had longer). Pubs, restaurants, shops are all within walking distance as is the sea front and station. The guest house is spotlessly clean and all rooms have ensuite facilities. Little extras are included for that personal touch (soap dispenser in toilet, tea/coffee facilities, towels, television). Barry and Amanda are a very warm and friendly couple who go out of their way to make your stay very welcoming. Breakfasts are amazing, especially the full english. A real gem of a guest house who will be recommended to all my friends. We've already booked our return visit next October :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.5 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
411 reviews
0.7 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#13 of 17 in Paignton
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#16 of 17 in Paignton
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berry Hotel
Berry Hotel
#14 of 17 in Paignton
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jacaranda Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jacaranda Guest House

Address: 8 Beach Road, Paignton TQ4 6AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: £48 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Jacaranda Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Jacaranda Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jacaranda Guest House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing