We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A proper treat for our little family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Birklands Guest House
Ranked #35 of 97 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I called the BandB the day before our arrival... They were more than happy to book us into their last available family room and sort out our parking ticket.

I was told to collect a key in advance which really helped, we were also asked if we would like to leave our bags and they would be taken to our room..

The room- a decent size, 3 beds .. Good sized ensuite, clean.

The owners - Christine and Nigel were fantastic with our children, and so were the guests during breakfast..

All of my family were served a good sized full English breakfast and juice/tea/coffe and cereals. We were also asked if we had any dietary requirements.

Im Very happy to write this review for people who obviously care about their guests.

We were told directions on how to get to the Zoo.

Thank you thank you.

We will visit again next year. From Alex Alana Matthew and Olivia

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dischargedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

I have just spent 3 nights here with my mother & my son. Nigel & Christine made us very welcome & were always very helpful. The location is great for accessing the town, station & beach. The rooms were clean & had everything we needed. The breakfast menu offered a wide choice & the portions even satisfied my sons' good appetite. Would definitely recommend Birklands & look forward to returning there in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SEF66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

we have just come back from a weekend with christine and nigel at birklands guest house. this has got to be our best stay in the most welcoming and relaxed bed and breakfast we have ever had. the room was spotless and the breakfasts were fantastic. if you are looking for a welcome break, or as we had, a relaxing couple of nights away. this is the place to go. 100% to christine and nigel, they made you very very welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay here with my husband and two children. Nigel and Christine were very warm and welcoming. The room was very clean and the breakfast was excellent. I would definitely return to this guest house.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessica s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed at end of April 2013 along with 6 others for a long weekend coinciding with the last football away trip of the year.

Birklands is 5 minutes walk from both the railway sation and the beach.

The room and ensuite were beautifully decorated and very clean. Very generous breakfast served by the owners who went to great lengths to make us feel welcome and were happy to suggest things to do in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gashead_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Just stayed here for two nights and found it to be one of the best guest houses I've stayed at. The room was beautifully decorated, everything thought of and to the highest standard. Nigel and Christine offered the warmest of welcomes and it was a delight to chat with them and their other guests. Breakfasts were hearty and home-cooked. I arrived at 2300 after a long journey and was so grateful for a kind welcome, even though I was so late and an immediately calm atmosphere to relax in.

The house is one street back from the noisy sea front and so beautifully quiet. I had room 4 and it was perfect.

I'm delighted to recommend as highly as I can. Thank you both so much!

Room Tip: I loved Room 4 which was a large double, even though I was on my own. Lovely and light and very airy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizzie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed at the Birkland with my mum for her 86th birthday treat. Received a lovely warm welcome from Nigel and Christine the owners. Mum had the double en-suite on the ground floor which was ideal for her and I had room 3 upstairs . This was also a double ensuite although I had only paid for a single room so a nice surprise. My bed was really comfortable, everywhere was spotlessly clean and a lot of little extra touches made for an excellent experience. Nigel and Christine gave us a lot of tips and info on where to eat and how to get there and also some vouchers for a free starter/dessert at a local pub. We had a restful night and although I'm a very light sleeper I didnt hear any of the other guests at all till we all met in the dining room for breakfast. In fact I wondered if there was soundproofing in all the rooms. Enjoyed Christines cooking very much, there was a great choice and also enjoyed Nigels service and chat. We will definitely be going back again as on top of all this, the location was great, near to both the sea front and the shops.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dee142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0 mi away
Merriedale Guest House
Merriedale Guest House
#24 of 97 in Paignton
77 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#13 of 17 in Paignton
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
414 reviews
0 mi away
Berry Hotel
Berry Hotel
#12 of 17 in Paignton
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birklands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birklands Guest House

Address: 33 Garfield Road, Paignton TQ4 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: £54 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Birklands Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family run guest house minutes from the beach and town centre. Conveniently situated for bus, train and coach travel. Plenty of choices for breakfast which is included in our room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Birklands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birklands Guest House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing