We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Birklands Guest House
Ranked #30 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mini break”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay and I cannot rate this B and B highly enough . The location is excellent , it really is just a minutes walk to the beach , pier , childrens play park and only a few minutes to the shops and restaurants . There is a cinema close by and crazy golf and swimming pool . The B and B is also very close to the train station . Chris and Nigel are absolutely lovely , very friendly and accommodating . It was just myself and my 7 year old daughter staying . We were allowed to come and go as we pleased . The whole of the B and B was spotless and cleaned to a very high spec . The breakfast was fantastic , a wide range of food on offer and cooked fresh to order . Overall we had a fantastic stay and will definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
26
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I called the BandB the day before our arrival... They were more than happy to book us into their last available family room and sort out our parking ticket.

I was told to collect a key in advance which really helped, we were also asked if we would like to leave our bags and they would be taken to our room..

The room- a decent size, 3 beds .. Good sized ensuite, clean.

The owners - Christine and Nigel were fantastic with our children, and so were the guests during breakfast..

All of my family were served a good sized full English breakfast and juice/tea/coffe and cereals. We were also asked if we had any dietary requirements.

Im Very happy to write this review for people who obviously care about their guests.

We were told directions on how to get to the Zoo.

Thank you thank you.

We will visit again next year. From Alex Alana Matthew and Olivia

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dischargedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I have just spent 3 nights here with my mother & my son. Nigel & Christine made us very welcome & were always very helpful. The location is great for accessing the town, station & beach. The rooms were clean & had everything we needed. The breakfast menu offered a wide choice & the portions even satisfied my sons' good appetite. Would definitely recommend Birklands & look forward to returning there in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SEF66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2013

we have just come back from a weekend with christine and nigel at birklands guest house. this has got to be our best stay in the most welcoming and relaxed bed and breakfast we have ever had. the room was spotless and the breakfasts were fantastic. if you are looking for a welcome break, or as we had, a relaxing couple of nights away. this is the place to go. 100% to christine and nigel, they made you very very welcome.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay here with my husband and two children. Nigel and Christine were very warm and welcoming. The room was very clean and the breakfast was excellent. I would definitely return to this guest house.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessica s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed at end of April 2013 along with 6 others for a long weekend coinciding with the last football away trip of the year.

Birklands is 5 minutes walk from both the railway sation and the beach.

The room and ensuite were beautifully decorated and very clean. Very generous breakfast served by the owners who went to great lengths to make us feel welcome and were happy to suggest things to do in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gashead_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton england
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Just stayed here for two nights and found it to be one of the best guest houses I've stayed at. The room was beautifully decorated, everything thought of and to the highest standard. Nigel and Christine offered the warmest of welcomes and it was a delight to chat with them and their other guests. Breakfasts were hearty and home-cooked. I arrived at 2300 after a long journey and was so grateful for a kind welcome, even though I was so late and an immediately calm atmosphere to relax in.

The house is one street back from the noisy sea front and so beautifully quiet. I had room 4 and it was perfect.

I'm delighted to recommend as highly as I can. Thank you both so much!

Room Tip: I loved Room 4 which was a large double, even though I was on my own. Lovely and light and very airy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.6 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Merriedale Guest House
Merriedale Guest House
#24 of 96 in Paignton
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sands Hotel
The Sands Hotel
#58 of 96 in Paignton
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kingswinford Guest House
Kingswinford Guest House
#5 of 96 in Paignton
470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#68 of 96 in Paignton
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brampton Guesthouse
Brampton Guesthouse
#31 of 96 in Paignton
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birklands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birklands Guest House

Property: Birklands Guest House
Address: 33 Garfield Road, Paignton TQ4 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Birklands Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family run guest house minutes from the beach and town centre. Conveniently situated for bus, train and coach travel. Plenty of choices for breakfast which is included in our room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Birklands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birklands Guest House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing