We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Birklands Guest House
Ranked #34 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

had a great time couldn't have wished to have met a nicer couple than nigel and Christine. breakfasts were superb and always hot and well cooked. always asked what we were doing and recommended us places to visit room was spotless and comfy. enjoyed our stay and would tell anyone visiting south devon head to the birklands for a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Owner at Birklands Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi Jeff, Jo and Pat, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, we certainly enjoyed your company. It is always nice to get friendly guests. I hope you will be coming back to see us again in the future, you will all be very welcome. Thanks again, Chris and Nigel. ps the Dahlia is doing very well just outside the front door.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Christine & Nigel you are the best hosts people could ask for... NOTHING was too much trouble, you were very welcoming and helpful with information. This was our first B&B experience and you made us so welcome in your home we will definitely come back again when in the area. The room was spacious even though it was a family room, with everything you need to make a stay great! Breakfast was lovely and plentiful .. the rooms were very clean ..It was a very enjoyable stay for us .. THANK YOU Christine & Nigel. From Raymond, Cath, Jess & Charlotte Pollard .x

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cath P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Owner at Birklands Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully you will stay with us again. As newbies to the B&B fraternity it was good that we met with your expectations. We really enjoyed meeting you and your family, if only for a short time. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was our first experience of B&B and we did'nt really know what to expect,but we were very impressed.We spent 8 nights at Birklands,Christine & Nigel are wonderful hosts,nothing was too much trouble.We enjoyed our stay very much,breakfasts were excellent & my wifes dietary needs were no problem to them.The room was lovely very comfortable and good value for money.We knew there were no parking facilities but Christine & Nigel explained where we could buy a weekly ticket & the multii storey car park is not far away.
Sandra & David Morgan

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Owner at Birklands Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hi to you both, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see again soon, Thanks for writing a wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have just spent 3 nights at the Birklands with Nigel and Christine and have thoroughly enjoyed our stay..
Room was great value for money very very clean and comfortable. A wonderful breakfast menu choice and cooked fresh when u go down for breakfast. Nigel and Christine were lovely and friendly and have good knowledge of places to visit andwhere to eat..
Ideally situated not even a 2 minute walk to the beach in a quiet side street just off the front. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED you won't be disappointed..

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Small room but very clean, tidy and good tea/coffee making facilities. Good hosts and very obliging as I had to leave earlier than they served breakfast but they insisted on serving breakfast before I left.
Nigel recommended a meal at the harbour pub and this was a very good for £5.
No close parking facilities though.

Room Tip: single room I had was adequate and good value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juney25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I had stayed for a,couple of nights in April and on the strength of that, booked a whole week for this trip. Nigel and Christine are superb hosts and made me really feel like a valued, returning friend. Nothing is ever too much trouble for them and they make all their guests so welcome, offering all sorts of advice and guidance to help make their stay the best it can be. I had Room 4 again and it is so light, airy and comfortable. Christine cooks a wonderful poached egg, which is the perfect soulmate for juicy bacon and sausage! They even stored some rather tasty local cheese in their fridge so I could bring it back home as a gift. Nigel was an absolute hero in retrieving a pair of my knickers which I'd washed, put on the window ledge to dry and which had blown into the gutter of the bay window below! He even managed not to laugh - not too much anyway! Apparently it ' was a first'! My best friends DID laugh a lot! I can't imagine wanting to stay anywhere else when I visit the area. Thank you for a great stay, my dears!

Room Tip: All the rooms are high standard and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Spent a couple of nights here to give Paignton and Torbay area a try, my son and I absolutely loved it. The location of the Guest House is fantastic, you are literally a five minute walk from the station, the rooms are clean and have everything that is needed, Nigel and Christine are very knowledgable about the area and are very welcoming, they also recommended places to visit and eat, nothing is too much trouble to make your stay at the Birklands one you will always remember and want to come back to again.
Just two minutes from the beach and Geo Park where the kids can spend hours on the numerous park rides there.
I would recommend a stroll through Victoria Park, where there's plenty do for kids of all ages, we also went on the Dartmouth Steam Railway which we both enjoyed.
Paignton and the Torbay area has a lot more to offer, which is a good excuse to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linnyboy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#12 of 17 in Paignton
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
0.3 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#17 of 17 in Paignton
47 reviews
0 mi away
Belle Dene Guest House
Belle Dene Guest House
#2 of 96 in Paignton
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birklands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birklands Guest House

Address: 33 Garfield Road, Paignton TQ4 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: £62 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Birklands Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family run guest house minutes from the beach and town centre. Conveniently situated for bus, train and coach travel. Plenty of choices for breakfast which is included in our room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Birklands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birklands Guest House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing