We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best home from home you can get”
Review of Rowcroft Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rowcroft Lodge
Ranked #57 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
South Cerney, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The best home from home you can get”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

I've just returned from a wonderful 3 night Christmas break with my Husband, Mother-in Law, 4 kids and 2 Bedlington Terriers. Me & Hubby had the best deal with a dog friendly room (No 11) in the basement that was large, warm and clean. Despite the windows being at ground level it felt very bright and airy during the day and warm and snug at night. My Mum in law didn't do so well being landed with the 4 kids.........but she did volunteer! They had room 3 on the first floor that again had big windows but these overlooked the park and the beach so it's got the view. It had a double bed, bunk beds and an extra z bed to accommodate all 5 of them but there was still plenty of room for them all to move around so she was well happy after all!!
Steve and Ellie where really welcoming and gave us all drinks and mince pies on our arrival. I'd also phoned ahead and asked for recommendations for somewhere to go for Christmas dinner but they offered to provide us with that at a very reasonable price so we took them up on that and weren't disapponted. They dished up enough to feed an army so after joking about bubble and squeak for a month we arranged to have just that with fried egg, spaghetti hoops for the kids, ice cream etc for boxing day tea. And that was after an impromptu phone call at about 4:00pm on Boxing day itself. They had planned to use all the veg in a soup for their boys that were due so......Sorry boys but the Bubble & Squeak was lush!
There were a few other people staying when we were there but as they were out and about most of the time we took over the lounge, opened our presents there on Christmas day morning, congregated there in the eve etc. We really did feel like a family at home. We completely understood and respected the no take aways in the rooms policy.............who would want smelly Indian/Chinese food permeating through the building anyway? We did ask and were told it was no probs to let the kids have their stocking filler snacks, chocs etc in the lounge though. Plus Steve and Ellie left us with Coffee and mince pies in there anyway so it really was a case of feet up and watching the Christmas specials. There's also a wii, games, toys and videos so Christmas or not you've got entertainment for the kids if there's nothing on tele.
I think the thing that made it so special was that we were all given a gift just before our Christmas dinner was served. This was totally unexpected and so thoughtful it almost made me and my Mum in law cry. We both looked at each other and went Aw. How lovely is that and it will always be a beautiful memory. OK we might be special but I doubt it somehow. I think it's just Stev & Ellies way. Thank you both so much............Oh and letting us fill up the dog bowls with the scraps for Carking and Stella made it 'home from home' for them as well.
The kids are begging to came back in the summer when it's not raining which we'll definately do if we can.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mentalblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    24
    4
    5
    6
See reviews for
21
32
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My 85 year old mother and myself stayed in this lovely old house for three nights. The room we had was at the back and although there wasn't a view as such it was quiet and peaceful. The Propriertors were most welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was excellent. The room was clean and neat and the shower ensuite fresh and in full working order.
We had an off road parking spot and the house was within easy walking distance of the park and beach even for an 85 year old.
One slight criticism which is easily corrected. Give the picture window a clean on the outside.
All in all a happy and enjoyable stay. THANKYOU .

Room Tip: First floor room was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherKeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I booked this B & B last minute spur of the moment, And was not disappointed.The room was fine and breakfast was 1st class. Having read other reviews I personally couldn't see what they were moaning about. We really enjoyed our stay and were made very welcome by Elly and Steve,Thanks !!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huddster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Fantastic location - ideal for the beach and park, but without doubt the worst hotel room I have ever stayed in. Dirty, damp and depressing.

The hotel only has one "dog friendly" bedroom and it is underground, damp and "foisty".
Pets are not allowed in the lounge or bar area so there is no escape in the evening.

The owners seem friendly enough but were not interested in trying to find a solution, even though we were buying "Febreeze", anti-bacterial wipes and moisture absobant chemicals out of our own pocket. Their only concession was to say that if we left early, they would not charge us for the nights we did not spend there.

Dirty towels were not changed on a daily basis and the room itself was grubby and in need of a deep clean

Room Tip: This is NOT a pet friendly hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We booked to go here on a mini break with my parents. The accommodation needed to cater for dogs and babies, which Rowcroft said it did. This is not the case!
The 'dog' room which my parents stayed in was atrocious. Dirty,damp and smelly. My mum had to clean the room herself even after reporting it was filthy, they didn't do anything to sort it out. After one night in the room my mum was struggling to breathe due to all the damp.
My parents asked if there was another room they could have and that they were prepared to pay extra for the dog, and they were told to swap rooms with me and my husband and 16week old baby!!!
In terms of it being 'dog friendly', dogs are not allowed in the lounge or in fact anywhere at all in the house- which is ludicrous as the house was dirty.
In terms of the other room- it was dirty, towels not changed and dirty ones hung back up!
On the plus side, breakfast was reasonable, with good choice. Excellent location- great beach.
Such a shame that the owners were in complete denial of the problems.
We will return to the area but will stay in a different place!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

After booking on line we asked for a front room and indeed we were shown to very top floor by Steve and Elly and indeed he carried our case. Please note room 8 is rite at top and if not fit you may struggle
On entering the hotel we both smelt a musty smell and put it down to the dogs being allowed to stay in hotel. Our room allocated was very poor and to be honest we even discussed if we should leave (as elly said they were full we were scuppered to change rooms)
The room was poor ver poor it was obvious a family as there was double bed and bunks also. The wall paper in room was splitting, marks on the ceiling and with extension cables pinned up to take plugs for the TV etc it was not at all a great image. Indeed you can just about see the TV from the bed as its that small.
The room was dirty- skirting boards, carpet, light fitting bathroom all in need of good deep clean. Shower enclsure was very dirty with horrible rusty shower rail.We did inspect bed as we did feel so uncomfortable in the room
Inspecting the room folder be warned if you loose your key £75 charge and you cannot take take away food to your room at all including Subways etc or another £75 fine. We have visited numerous hotels over the years but never ever heard anything like this. You must order your breakfast the night before.
Breakfast was ok in fairness - we didnt feel like what we ordered but scared just in case there was another £75 fine !! Fruit was in plastic containers and to be honest looked ... not good.
Having stayed at a recent B&B in Newquay to which you can see from our feedback previous we think Steve & Elly would benefit to seeing how to make number 1 on trip advisor. In these tough times we believe (although there is a cost) that this B&B needs a full make over. Not many repeat customers in our opinion and location this could be a gold mine.
in terms of Channel 4 series Four In a Bed we would score out of 10 ...
How were your hosts ....4
How clean ...3
How were the facilities..3
How as breakfast...4
how did you sleep...3
Would you return again ... Sorry defo NO

Room Tip: If you have breathing difficulties - walking issues ask for lower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkandAmanda06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2012

On our arrival we were greeted by the owners Steve and Elly. They were very friendly and helpful. Our room was a double with ensuite, and was very clean with tea and coffee facilities.
Clean towels were provided including complimentary toiletries.
The chef (Steve) cooks a "mean" breakfast and he and Elly always welcomed us to breakfast with a smile.
The location is good for families wanting a park and clean beaches. It is a short ten minute walk to the centre and harbour.
Thanks Elly and Steve for a lovely stay and when we come again we will bring the "dog".

Room Tip: Catch the local bus from the end of the road for £0.75p to town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddie_stevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.0 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
323 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sands Hotel
The Sands Hotel
#45 of 96 in Paignton
97 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waverley Guest house
Waverley Guest house
#55 of 96 in Paignton
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dalehurst Guest House
Dalehurst Guest House
#32 of 96 in Paignton
34 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brampton Guesthouse
Brampton Guesthouse
#28 of 96 in Paignton
92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Birklands Guest House
Birklands Guest House
#29 of 96 in Paignton
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowcroft Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowcroft Lodge

Property: Rowcroft Lodge
Address: 14 Youngs Park Road | Goodrington Sands, Paignton TQ4 6BU, England (Formerly Rowcroft Beach Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rowcroft Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super family run Guest House catering for all ages - Goodrington Park opposite and on level walking to the beach which is 80 metres,Paignton Town centre only 8 minutes walk. Splashdown water park just across the park (100 metres).We are one of the closest Guest House to Paignton Zoo approx 1 mile away. Steam railway and sea can be seen from the Guest House. All rooms have digital flat screen TV's. Under no circumstances can a cot be added to a double room. Min of two night stay over weekends and during summer months. 100% non-smoking Single night supplement is applicable to all rooms. Dogs sometimes accepted subject to breed at an additional fee.Wi-Fi available. We are very close for all Paignton Language schools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rowcroft Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowcroft Lodge Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing