We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stay, would defiantly go again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rowcroft Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rowcroft Lodge
Ranked #62 of 100 Paignton B&B and Inns
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing stay, would defiantly go again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Such a lovely hotel! Elly and Steve were very friendly and helpful and even took a interest in what we were doing that day and recommended places that we could go, the hotel was very clean and being someone with OCD, that's really saying something, if it wasn't clean I wouldn't have stayed there for four nights! Breakfast was a really lovely start to the breakfast but over all, Elly and Steve really made our holiday, defiantly returning next year :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    24
    4
    5
    6
See reviews for
21
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Three Guys started our Spain / France Motorcycle trip from here the hosts were bubbly and friendly the local area is very nice opposite a lovely park as short distance from a great night life without being to close to the noise.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
170 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

I along with my wife with 2 adult children stayed in the hotel for 2 days. We had a wonderful stay there. Steve and Elsie made our stay pleasant. The hotel is few minutes walk away from the beachfront. There is a nice garden in front where one can take walks. The rooms are cozy and has all the amenities required. Breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAMESHDAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandysul, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

This was a stopover for my family; we were only there one night.
The house is on the edge of Goodrington Park (a small pleasure park) which is adjacent to a small bay and ideal for an old fashioned family holiday.
The hosts were very friendly and welcoming and the room (although small) had a double bed and bunk beds which which were comfortable enough and the place was clean and tidy (but the noisy
fan in the bathroom was a bit irritating). Plenty of towels though ... tea/coffee in the room generously provided.
Our room was at the very top of the building (and at the back, so we had no view of the park) with numerous flights of stairs ... this was a struggle for me! If you are older I would advise asking for a downstairs room.
We walked over the cliff to Paignton and had a meal on the evening we arrived, and then walked back in the balmy summer air. Well lit paths made this a safe and enjoyable experience.
With free parking outside the front door and a generous breakfast we could say we were very competently provided for.
I would recommend Rowcroft if you are looking for a traditional English seaside stay.

Room Tip: Request a room downstairs to avoid a trek to the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgiahay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

Just had a 2 night stay,and my wife and I can't really fault it,Steve and elly greeted us and couldn't be more welcoming. The hotel is clean,tidy and homely,our room was on the top floor which gave a nice view of the park and sea. Overall very impressed and we will be going back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nigelp61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my family at this excellent positioned b and b for 2 nights. Breakfast was plentiful and high standard. Hosts were relaxed and friendly. Clean and comfortable I will be returning in the future. Would definitely recommend a stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louisechicken45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Cerney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

I've just returned from a wonderful 3 night Christmas break with my Husband, Mother-in Law, 4 kids and 2 Bedlington Terriers. Me & Hubby had the best deal with a dog friendly room (No 11) in the basement that was large, warm and clean. Despite the windows being at ground level it felt very bright and airy during the day and warm and snug at night. My Mum in law didn't do so well being landed with the 4 kids.........but she did volunteer! They had room 3 on the first floor that again had big windows but these overlooked the park and the beach so it's got the view. It had a double bed, bunk beds and an extra z bed to accommodate all 5 of them but there was still plenty of room for them all to move around so she was well happy after all!!
Steve and Ellie where really welcoming and gave us all drinks and mince pies on our arrival. I'd also phoned ahead and asked for recommendations for somewhere to go for Christmas dinner but they offered to provide us with that at a very reasonable price so we took them up on that and weren't disapponted. They dished up enough to feed an army so after joking about bubble and squeak for a month we arranged to have just that with fried egg, spaghetti hoops for the kids, ice cream etc for boxing day tea. And that was after an impromptu phone call at about 4:00pm on Boxing day itself. They had planned to use all the veg in a soup for their boys that were due so......Sorry boys but the Bubble & Squeak was lush!
There were a few other people staying when we were there but as they were out and about most of the time we took over the lounge, opened our presents there on Christmas day morning, congregated there in the eve etc. We really did feel like a family at home. We completely understood and respected the no take aways in the rooms policy.............who would want smelly Indian/Chinese food permeating through the building anyway? We did ask and were told it was no probs to let the kids have their stocking filler snacks, chocs etc in the lounge though. Plus Steve and Ellie left us with Coffee and mince pies in there anyway so it really was a case of feet up and watching the Christmas specials. There's also a wii, games, toys and videos so Christmas or not you've got entertainment for the kids if there's nothing on tele.
I think the thing that made it so special was that we were all given a gift just before our Christmas dinner was served. This was totally unexpected and so thoughtful it almost made me and my Mum in law cry. We both looked at each other and went Aw. How lovely is that and it will always be a beautiful memory. OK we might be special but I doubt it somehow. I think it's just Stev & Ellies way. Thank you both so much............Oh and letting us fill up the dog bowls with the scraps for Carking and Stella made it 'home from home' for them as well.
The kids are begging to came back in the summer when it's not raining which we'll definately do if we can.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mentalblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
1.0 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#13 of 18 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Brampton Guesthouse
Brampton Guesthouse
#33 of 100 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Blue Waters Lodge
Blue Waters Lodge
#1 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Garfield Lodge
Garfield Lodge
#60 of 100 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paignton Court Hotel
Paignton Court Hotel
#23 of 100 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowcroft Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowcroft Lodge

Property: Rowcroft Lodge
Address: 14 Youngs Park Road | Goodrington Sands, Paignton TQ4 6BU, England (Formerly Rowcroft Beach Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rowcroft Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super family run Guest House catering for all ages - Goodrington Park opposite and on level walking to the beach which is 80 metres,Paignton Town centre only 8 minutes walk. Splashdown water park just across the park (100 metres).We are one of the closest Guest House to Paignton Zoo approx 1 mile away. Steam railway and sea can be seen from the Guest House. All rooms have digital flat screen TV's. Under no circumstances can a cot be added to a double room. Min of two night stay over weekends and during summer months. 100% non-smoking Single night supplement is applicable to all rooms. Dogs sometimes accepted subject to breed at an additional fee.Wi-Fi available. We are very close for all Paignton Language schools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Rowcroft Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowcroft Lodge Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing