We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cant wait to go back”
Review of Rowcroft Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rowcroft Lodge
Ranked #57 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“cant wait to go back”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

only stayed 1 night but we were made very welcome by ellie and steve. We stayed in the dog friendly room with our two Labradors and it was very clean and comfortable. Lots to choose from the breakfast selection and it was all very nice. My husband had full English all made fresh I had scrambled eggs they were both delicious. The rowcroft is handy for the beach, pub and the walk over the cliffs into paignton. All in all a super little hotel cant fault it. Looking forward to going back again for longer. Thankyou elli and steve

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    24
    4
    5
    6
See reviews for
21
33
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
hereford
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

this was a weekend break for a birthday treat from my wife.....what a smashing surprise it was ,
greeted by a lovely couple who made us feel most welcome....3-4 mins to beach nice park opposite and only 10 - 15mins to paignton town centre.The room was CLEAN and very comfortable....breakfast was excellent ....and there was even bar service at night ....what you saw on the web site was exactly what you got a a nice place at a very reasonable price we will definitely go again!! Thank you Steve & Ellie may you go from strength to strength .......

Room Tip: room 5 very nice very quite with sea view and opposite quite park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polemanHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed at the Rowcroft for 3 nights at short notice, we booked 1 twin and 1 double, Ellie went out of her way to find us 3 nights as we all had two weeks off and were not bothered which 3 nights we had.
The rowcroft is 3 mins walk from the beach and faces a park, it's very quiet at night during the week, we stayed a few years ago but over a weekend and found the hotel behind a little noisy.
Ellie and Steve were very welcoming.
Our rooms were very nice rooms 1 and 2
On the first floor (room 1,s carpet could do with a clean as it has coffee stains on it but this could have been done by previous residents)
Breakfast is great you can choose what time you would like it between 8am and 9am full English, toast, cereal, fruit plenty of juices.
We arrived early and our rooms were ready for us, when it was our last day we packed up our cases and they stored them for us until we were ready to leave in the afternoon.
We had a great holiday
Thankyou

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolves7d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here Augast 2013. We had a room in the basement which smelt of damp and when it rained the walls were wet. The couple were pleasant enough but we were not informed that another couple asked to be moved out because of the damp. The house was not very clean as there was dust everywhere. The breakfast was really nice but the tea was served in a stained metal tea pot. We did not stay on we left as Damp is not good. I think the house just needs a revamp as really old fashioned and tired. I think if these things were looked into it coud be a nice B&B. Also every time someone showered or flushed the toilet the noise was horrendous it woke me out of a deep sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Myself and my boyfriend have recently bought a labridor puppy and were looking for somewhere we could stay and take her along for her first trip away and first swim in the sea. I had stayed at the Rowcroft many years ago when it was owned by different people and remember that it was a great family holiday. When I realised that it was now one of the very few dog friendly B & B s in Torbay it was an easy decision to book our break there.

We arrived early as I always like to make the most of my holidays and Ellie and Steve were very welcoming and allowed us to check in at 11am and park our cars. I was very impressed with the dog friendly room, it was in the basement but this was to our advantage as it was lovely and cool down there and was very clean and large enough for the puppy crate.

Breakfast was very tasty with good choice and we could pick a variety of times. Ellie and Steve took a great personal interest in us and Sky (our puppy) and made us feel very welcome.

It was an excellent location and perfect for Sky with just a short stroll to the dog friendly beach (dogs are allowed all year around). We loved our stay so much that we booked a further night and they accommodated this and allowed us to change rooms.

We will be back again very soon to attempt that fishing trip that was cancelled due to choppy waters!!!!

Would recommend this to everyone if you own a dog or not!!!! Guests who would avoid it because of pervious reviews should ignore them and read mine as this one is up to date and tells the truth!!!!

One word fantastic!!!!

Room Tip: If its a hot sunny day the dog friendly rooms are the place to stay its lovely and cool at all times...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Such a lovely hotel! Elly and Steve were very friendly and helpful and even took a interest in what we were doing that day and recommended places that we could go, the hotel was very clean and being someone with OCD, that's really saying something, if it wasn't clean I wouldn't have stayed there for four nights! Breakfast was a really lovely start to the breakfast but over all, Elly and Steve really made our holiday, defiantly returning next year :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Three Guys started our Spain / France Motorcycle trip from here the hosts were bubbly and friendly the local area is very nice opposite a lovely park as short distance from a great night life without being to close to the noise.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.0 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
332 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.8 mi away
Waverley Guest house
Waverley Guest house
#56 of 96 in Paignton
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dalehurst Guest House
Dalehurst Guest House
#32 of 96 in Paignton
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sands Hotel
The Sands Hotel
#58 of 96 in Paignton
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cleve Court Hotel
Cleve Court Hotel
#28 of 96 in Paignton
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowcroft Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowcroft Lodge

Property: Rowcroft Lodge
Address: 14 Youngs Park Road | Goodrington Sands, Paignton TQ4 6BU, England (Formerly Rowcroft Beach Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rowcroft Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super family run Guest House catering for all ages - Goodrington Park opposite and on level walking to the beach which is 80 metres,Paignton Town centre only 8 minutes walk. Splashdown water park just across the park (100 metres).We are one of the closest Guest House to Paignton Zoo approx 1 mile away. Steam railway and sea can be seen from the Guest House. All rooms have digital flat screen TV's. Under no circumstances can a cot be added to a double room. Min of two night stay over weekends and during summer months. 100% non-smoking Single night supplement is applicable to all rooms. Dogs sometimes accepted subject to breed at an additional fee.Wi-Fi available. We are very close for all Paignton Language schools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rowcroft Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowcroft Lodge Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing