We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Visit”
Review of Occombe Farm

Occombe Farm
Ranked #11 of 35 things to do in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: It's free to visit this organic, working farm on the edge of Paignton. Open to the public 7 days a week, it includes a Farm Shop and Cafe serving local produce and a wonderful kitchen garden with a wartime allotment and air raid shelter. You can see farm animals including cows, sheep, goats, chickens, pigs and alpacas, and walk a lovely 2km nature trail with a bird hide. The farm is run by local charity Torbay Coast and Countryside Trust with all profits going to support its conservation and education work. The Trust run an events programme at Occombe and it's other sites, so please check the website for details of what's going on before you arrive. Free parking!
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place to Visit”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I've been coming to Paignton on holiday for the last couple of years and always pay a visit with my four year old son to Occombe Farm! It's such a relaxed setting, always lovely to walk around and has an amazing cafe! The breakfasts, salads and cakes I can't recommend enough. The farm is free and there is always activities on, as long as you're not expecting loads of animals, you'll have a great time!

Helpful?
Thank Emmab955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    54
    29
    19
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice day out!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Went to Occombe farm this weekend with my nephew and was quite impressed. The nature trails / gardens where interesting and lovely to walk around. The kids loved the outdoor play area and the food we had was nice and I would definitely go back again. I’ve been before and had cooked breakfast which has always been good and the ingredients are always top class.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Windrider6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Well worth a few hours”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Great worth to keep kids busy without costing a penny including great close to some of the animals. Trail is nice and you can also see a Anderson air raid shelter

Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not quite what we expected”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We visited with our 4 year old last week on our way home from holiday. The setting was lovely and quiet and seemed well set up/run. We entered through the visitor centre and the lady on the desk ignored us until we said hello first. We only saw a few chickens, 2 alpacas and 2 goats, which were at the backs of their fields so not nearby to see (I realise that this is not the farm's fault, they have to be able to roam to some extent). No pigs :-( My daughter loved the play area and we had a look in the farm shop and went to the cafe. We had a cream tea, which was nice. the staff in the cafe were pleasant. All in all, not a day out but a lovely place fir kids to play and to have food/drinks. And it is free to get in!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank LollipopL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Where are you all?”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Occombe Farm describes a farm shop, cafe, farm animals - cows, sheep, chickens, ducks, goats, and alpacas. We visited last Monday with our granddaughter and were so disappointed. We saw some chickens, 6 ducks sleeping by a very murky pond, and 2 goats. There were no cows or sheep and the alpacas that we were really looking forward to seeing, were nowhere to be seen. Ah well, we thought, let's have a look at the farm shop. It is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays! Time for lunch - the cafe could not serve hot food due to an unexplained problem. We did have a very good cup of coffee and a piece of homemade cake, and the staff were very friendly. However, we would not go there again because of the lack of animals.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki B, Marketing Officer at Occombe Farm, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi Jenny R. Many thanks for your feedback. We're really sorry to hear you were disappointed on your day out with us. To set the scene, we are a working organic farm which is free to enter rather than a petting farm, so at this time of year much of our livestock is out grazing the wild flower meadows. We have also enjoyed many hot days this summer, but this also means some of our other animals will seek out shade and can be harder to spot as a result. This is particularly true of both the alpacas and pigs. Unfortunately we had staff illness on the day you came which meant the cafe could not provide hot food that day as you have stated.
We do have a full summer of children's activities every day throughout the summer holidays so there is so much more to do here at the farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Occombe Farm also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Occombe Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing