We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best fish & chips in UK” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Richard's Fish Cafe

Richard's Fish Cafe
Ranked #28 of 179 Restaurants in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A family run fish & chip shop with excellent food and smiling staff.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“best fish & chips in UK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I have been coming to this fish & chip shop when on holiday since the 1970's.

I am never disappointed.

The fish is fresh & the chips fab. If like my sons, you would rather not have fish (although why would you) they also do pies & pizza.

If you are in the area try this fish & chip shop you won't regret it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank james family, weston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardsFishCafe, Owner at Richard's Fish Cafe, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Hi, Really glad you are still enjoying the Fish & Chips, we do rely on returning and new customers local and holiday so we do make every effort to make your visit as pleasurable as we can, unfortunately we do not do pizza any more but we do have quite a large selection for the none fish eaters, see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    23
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Probably the best fish and chip shop in Torbay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I have used this local chippie for years, even prior to the current family who have been here for ever.
Always friendly welcoming service. On popular nights the queues can seem daunting but their system works and your freshly cooked order is with you in a blink. Especially as the chat in the shop is always interesting. They seem to know all the locals and what they are going to order.

Just up the road is local completion in the form of the very good London Fryer. There is also awarding winning Hanbury's at Babbacombe and award winning Squires ( why). But after several personal tastings I declare Richards the best in bay. Why don't they get awards? Is it because they don't enter?
The family work very hard at their business and it shows in service and food quality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Torbaytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardsFishCafe, Owner at Richard's Fish Cafe, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Hi thank you for the review and we are glad you enjoyed the chat and your food, we do have an award, Britains best chippy awarded by Morrisons the supermarket, nominated by customers, also taste testers from Morrisons, we do not enter the other competitions because we feel they are misleading as only a small percentage of the award is food based the rest of the marks are on wether your walls are cladded or tiled and the freezers and first aid box is stainless steal, as long as the establishment has good hygiene practice and the food and price is good in a friendly environment that is all the customer is looking for, so just because a restaurant has an award does not actually mean that the food is good unless its like ours and voted for by people that actually matter, and thats the customer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Visit 17.07.13”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

The fish and chips were good but the chat was a bit insincere and over the top. Do they not realise that other people also work long hours and 7 days a week? The customers are smiling back at them but I heard "well that did my head in!" as we left from another customer. I am sure they are a very friendly bunch but alll a bit over the top. We all work hard to earn a living we just came in for fish and chips- which was agreed good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardsFishCafe, Owner at Richard's Fish Cafe, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Im sorry you didnt enjoy the chat, we are sincere, we want people not just to enjoy the food but also the experience, because we mostly cook to order, while people are waiting a bit of chat makes the time go quicker, if anyone doesnt want to be part of this then we do not force conversation. Glad you enjoyed you meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Got take away for us and the kids - great fish and chips but too much salt so make sure you 'quantify' how much you want - same goes for the vinegar!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cazu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardsFishCafe, Owner at Richard's Fish Cafe, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Thank you, hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
401 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Faultless”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We sat inside for our visit for fish and chips (table service.) Excellent quality, cooked fresh and very pleasant staff. Can’t fault the place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WirralTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardsFishCafe, Owner at Richard's Fish Cafe, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Thank you for the review, Glad you enjoyed your meal, and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Richard's Fish Cafe also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Richard's Fish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing