We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty meal”

Richard's Fish Cafe
Ranked #28 of 181 Restaurants in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A family run fish & chip shop with excellent food and smiling staff.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tasty meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We found this lovely fish and chip cafe whilst driving around Paington. Everything is cooked to order, but do not be put off or inpatient, well worth the very short wait. The chips very cooked perfectly and the fish was of very good quality, the batter crispy and not at all greasy. This was one of the best fish and chip meals we have had in a long time. We shall return again when visiting the area. The staff are all very pleasant and friendly. The cafe is clean and tidy. Thank you for a delicious meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VillamangoKohSamui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardsFishCafe, Owner at Richard's Fish Cafe, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
It was very nice to serve you, thank you for the kind words, hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    25
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pulborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Fish & Chips!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Lovely white fish, nice "Crispy" chips and very Generous portions! The Fish is cooked to order and all skinned & boned The Staff were really friendly, and the Restaurant was very clean, we would Definitely go there again if we are in the area, we had my mum with us and she is very "Fussy" about her food but she thought it was Excellent and cleared her plate!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardsFishCafe, Owner at Richard's Fish Cafe, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Im sure your mums not that fussy and she was probably hungry lol, hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great takeaway, huge portions!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We were recommended this chippy by the owner of our self-catering apartment. What a great recommendation! We had fish and chips to go and they were yummy. Perfectly cooked fish, large portions. They recommend one order of chips for 2-3 people, but since we're big eaters, my husband requested two orders of chips -- way too much in retrospect!

We forgot to take tartar sauce with us, but frankly, the fish was so good/fresh, we ate it without. Next time in Paignton, we'll definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardsFishCafe, Owner at Richard's Fish Cafe, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Glad you enjoyed your meal, hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best chippy in the west”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We have being coming down here on holiday for what seems like forever and used several chippies on our visits, we now live down here and only use Richards for his delicious fish & chips we are never dissapointed and the staff are very friendly and the banter is always interesting so we think that you and your staff deserve to be thanked for the good friendly service you provide not only to locals but the holidaymakers also being local we can telephone our order in which is very usefull so thanks again keep the good work up for the bay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogerbrookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardsFishCafe, Owner at Richard's Fish Cafe, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you for the review, we enjoy the banter as much as the customers as it makes our days a pleasure, we are always looking at the food we serve to make sure its the best we can do, and you as the customer are getting the best quality for your money, thank you again for the review and see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best chippy in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

This offers the best chips in town good portions excellent fish and friendly staff we always go to Richards!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardsFishCafe, Owner at Richard's Fish Cafe, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hi, thank you for the review and we are pleased you enjoyed your experience, its always a pleasure to serve customers like yourself, hope to see you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Richard's Fish Cafe also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Richard's Fish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing