We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent fish and chips”

Richard's Fish Cafe
Ranked #31 of 182 Restaurants in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: A family run fish & chip shop with excellent food and smiling staff.
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,297 reviews
703 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4,257 helpful votes
“Decent fish and chips”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Visited this cafe on the basis of the positive TripAdvisor reviews, and enjoyed our meal. The fish was tasty and we'll cooked, perhaps not the thickest piece but decent enough. The chips were good too. Overall a decent meal, solid cooking. Staff were excellent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chammp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    26
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“top nosh”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

stayed in torquay and were told to go there by the apartment owners , locals in the know
great fish and chips and at a good price for the familly

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely chippy”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

The food was AMAZING !!! The staff were really friendly, the two girls on the counter liked to talk a lot ( between them selfs about things you don't want to know ) but apart from that it's amazing we will be back for more amazing fish and chips

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denny340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Size of the fish!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Great fish and chips. I ordered regular cod and my word I would hate to see the large! Great Friday night chippy tea enjoyed.

Helpful?
Thank 180Jo_Wills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Jem but we found it !!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

This chippy was really good the food was amazing we waited a little while because it was what seemed fairly busy that evening but our food came to us and it was lovely not rushed or plonked on the plate or table but placed it was if we were the only ones in there and it was very reasonably priced and the portion was more than I could finish of and I like my food ! We also had takeaway on a different evening before we headed home I stood in the que for a while but as my food was cooked especially for me I didn't mind as I knew it would be fresh out the fryer, again portion sizes were more than expected there regular cod and chips was more than enough and as we were taking it down the beach it was offered to us in a box with a plastic fork (not many places do this)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharkdiver01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Richard's Fish Cafe also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Richard's Fish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing