We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food in Paignton” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Henrys Bar

Henrys Bar
Ranked #10 of 179 Restaurants in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Henrys is a traditional style pub that serves meals throughout the day
Redditch
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best food in Paignton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Whenever our family come to Paignton we always go to Henry's bar.The food is always fantastic. Never had a bad meal and would highly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie3334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    54
    11
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We have had a brilliant carvery here but didnt ratę the regular menu.We visited mid week & noticed nearly all the food came with chips.On the specials board there was one dish that came with boiled potatos so I asked if i could have the hunters chicken with with potatos or a jacket instead of curly fries as i was trying to be a bit healthier.Was told there were no other type of potato even though it was written on pub board! Decided then to have chicken wrap with curly fries,what a waste of money.Out came a plate covered in curly fries &a wrap with a couple of pieces of what looked like Birds Eye chicken & a lot of onion & cucumber.All i can say is if you want lots of chips or curly fries this place could be for you but then again you would get better value at a chip shop.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Val J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Fabulous bar and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We visit this bar often, and each and every time food has been fantastic and staff have been helpful and friendly at all times. Would highly recommend if you are looking for a friendly, warm bar.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kellykent1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great food good dog friendly pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Came to Paignton on the steam train for the day.Decided to try Henrys for lunch(better than fast food)The only table that seated 4 had empty plates on but the staff cleared this for us as soon as we sat down.We decided on the carvery as it was Sunday!When the food arrived it looked great the gammon was lovely not salty the whole meal was good as you could tell by the empty plates?
We also noticed that they allowed dogs in which is a bonus these days.We will be back for a meal again on our next visit which will be very soon.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent beer and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I doubt we would have ventured into Henry's Bar if it wasn't for the Good Beer Guide recommendation, since it shares a frontage with a selection of fast-food joints and slot arcades.
Once inside however, the atmosphere is that of a real pub: simple scrubbed tables, wooden floors and - most important of all - excellent, well-kept real ale at very reasonable prices (we paid £2.60 a pint for Dartmouth IPA and Summer Lightning).
The three ladies behind the bar were friendly and efficient and - very important - the toilets were spotless! An enjoyable early evening.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Henrys Bar also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Henrys Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing