We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as we've come to expect from a Beefeater.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of White Rock

White Rock
Ranked #84 of 181 Restaurants in Paignton
Cuisines: British, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“As good as we've come to expect from a Beefeater.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The wife and I have eaten at many different Beefeaters over the years and have always enjoyed their food. We came here for dinner with family. Tasty food, good portion size, can't fault the service. We will certainly come here again.

Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    99
    77
    46
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely x”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Go quite often with my in laws. Food is tasty! Nice welcoming atmosphere! Polite and friendly service. Nothing is too much trouble for the waiting staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Surprisingly lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We had some vouchers for a free meal so booked a table for the Friday night

We were seated 15 minutes early , you get free soft drinks which are refilled without you needing to ask which was lovely.

The food was cooked to perfection, our waitress, Ruth, was quick and efficient, she told us about the free chip refills!!

We've booked to go again this Friday :-)

Helpful?
Thank clareandsteve2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“won`t rush back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

visited for evening meal 3 times during a week stay at the premier inn next door, lovely staff, but disappointed with my flat iron steak on 1st night, ordered because of the small size thought I would just about manage a 6oz steak...couldn`t cut it let alone chew it, I must say it was cooked med/rare as I requested to absulute perfection.... didn`t really know the cut of steak that i was ordering maybe it`s a cheap cut... not sure so put it down to experience. Second visit had table booked, greeted at the door and shown to a table, drinks ordered and served, and that`s where the service ended.....no-one came to take food order, we had to ask to have order taken to be informed we had been seated in an un-serviced area for that evening, but our order was taken and after a long wait was served, food was very nice,(gammon) but, yet again no further service until we requested to see the manager, complimentary coffees and a bill reduction for our inconvenience. We were very tempted not to use our table for the last night of our holiday but decided to give them another try, great service and really nice food. Whilst we were there we did notice a party of at least 6 people get up and walk out, and 2 other couples complain about the length of time they had been waiting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Birthday meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

2 mixed grills as usual. However, they have changed the content and the steak was tiny ( beautifully cooked tho). Sausages are never cooked properly either. More mushrooms would be good too. Why are there no peas? Just peashoots for token greenery. Very disappointed that there are no longer unlimited chips and those you do get are not hot nor plentiful enough. Staff obviously have to push stuff and are pressured to do so. Lovely friendly staff other than that. Will return when have bogof vouchers

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shadylady4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Rock also viewed

 
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to White Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing