We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable stay”
Review of Hotel Bonair

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Bonair
Ranked #40 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ACCRINGTON
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I am really puzled by the report of the 5th May - it hardly seems the same hotel. Ii travelled independently to the hotel by car with my brother and we were greeted by the propreieter with a cup of tea and friendly chat before showing us to our rooms - my brother had a single on the front overlooking the sea and mine was a double at the back.The single room shower was on the small size but perfectly adequate. the double room was lovely.Both rooms had very comfortable beds with lovely white sheets and blankets ( not duvets) towels were fresh soft and white also. The position of the hotel is very good as it overlooks the green and the sea and is at the quieter end of Paignton ( the no50 bus for Cockington stops almost outside the door and returns there which we made good use of)
Yes food is relatively simple but there was a choice of 3 starters , 4 mains and 3 sweets every evening and a good choice of breakfast with loads of extra toast and coffee/tea Vegetarians are catered for and we loved some of the accompanying sauces and the variety of potato dishes provided by the chef. His pastry was lovely and the steak and ale pie especially delicious. The pancakes with fruit also deserve a mention as does his lamb with rosemary infused gravy.
This hotel has a very welcoming and comfortable atmosphere and gives very good value for money. We will certainly stay there again as the food provided suited our needs and we found it a very comfortable place to stay.
We all had keys to our rooms and the entrance door could only be opened from the inside without a key. Most hotels in my experience have yale locks on doors other than the higher priced hotels who have moved to cards. There is a safe in the office and visitors are advised to leave valuables in the safe which is what we did

Room Tip: For an extra £2 a day you can have a front room with a balcony - this is well worth the extra in my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank IMELDA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    19
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
32
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I have just returned from a 5 day break at the Hotel Bonair Paignton along with about 40 senior holiday makers and wish to warn anyone thinking of going to be aware that there is absolutely no security in the building which led to us suffering two evenings of being robbed. Money and jewels were taken from our rooms on both the Tuesday and the Wednesday evenings when most of us were either at dinner or out for the evening. We had all locked our doors but as they were only yale locks these were useless - and it seems the robber had a key!! The Hotel front door was permanently open and no one ever on reception; we had to ring a hand bell for a staff member and then wait. I was robbed on the Tuesday but as the management did not take me seriously -I had to phone the police as they refused- the robber returned for further pickings the next night. Elderly and vulnerable people were left shocked and distressed but the managers didn't even have the courtesy to speak to me or offer any care or apology. If they had acted on my first report and looked at their cctv camera then we would have all been aware and alert to this robber returning and people would not have lost their holiday pocket money or their most treasured rings, lockets,watch etc. I will never return to this Hotel and suggest you think carefully before you do. As we were leaving we discovered that exactly the same had happened last year and nothing has been done to protect their guests. It is a low grade hotel with a chef capable of only very basic food preparation so that, along with the uncaring management, I would suggest that an inspection is urgently required before more vulnerable people sufer as we did.

Room Tip: Ask about security,check the bathroom. some are no larger than a broom cupboard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank janeteb47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelbonair, Manager at Hotel Bonair, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
We are very sorry that this incident occurred at the hotel. I am afraid that we were not the only hotel targeted that week and the police do not know how the suspect got into the rooms. My family have run this hotel for 28yrs and this is only the 2nd time this has happened. We did take action after the first incident by having CCTV installed in the hotel. When money was reported missing there was no evidence to suggest a break-in, and as we did not know for sure how or where this money had been lost, the person concerned was advised to phone the police. When we realised there was a problem we immediately phoned police ourselves and trawled through the CCTV. From this film we identified a person who we believe is the suspect, and we have passed this information onto the police. This person actually walked into the hotel, and was chatting with, a group of guests staying here, so as not to arouse suspicion. The hotel does have a safe for guest use, which is clearly stated in the information book in the bedrooms,and many guests use this facility. We do feel greatly for the people that were affected, and we were very shocked and upset oursleves, as this is our home aswell as our business. We always do our very best to ensure that our guests have a lovely holiday here, with good home cooking and friendly staff, which I think is proven by our healthy repeat bookings over the years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed at The Hotel Bonair the 14th-16th April 2012,as part of a coach party (Voel Coaches,North Wales).
The Hotel is situated at the end of the Esplanade,overlooking the sea,and is a 5 minute walk into the Town Centre. Paignton Pier is accross the road (2min walk).
The room allocated was on the 2nd floor,and was on the small side.(about the size of a sprite touring Caravan). Likewise the bed,and bathroom,with very low water presure from the shower. However we did have tea/coffee making and a TV and it was spotlessly clean. But the brilliant view out accross the sea from the bedroom window made up for the lack of space.
The Food in the Resturant was excellent as was the service by all the staff.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor at the front have small balconies ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NorthWalesBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
503 reviews
0.5 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
382 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#17 of 17 in Paignton
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sefton Lodge
Sefton Lodge
#73 of 96 in Paignton
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonair

Property: Hotel Bonair
Address: 35 Esplanade Road, Paignton TQ4 6BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Hotel Bonair Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing