We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Great Western Villa
Ranked #58 of 97 Paignton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Excellent basic hotel, made to feel welcome from the second we walked through the door. Supurb cooked breakfast, excellent service from everyone. If you want a clean basic hotel to sleep in, have breakfast in and then go out for the day, in the Paignton area this one will take some beating. Even the beds are good and the room we had (10) is slightly bigger than many others I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

I stayed the weekend as i was running the torbay half marathon that weekend and i couldn't have picked a better hotel. Cathy and Mel was so friendly and made me feel at home straight away. The breakfast was tops, poached eggs were just right, plenty of toast and the hotel itself was warm and very comfortable. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

fantastic position only minuets from sea/town/night life/restaurants.reasonably priced ,clean comfy room.fantastic breakfast!!then wow!!the railway collection was superduper.booked as a surprise for my husband,he loved every minuet.WILL DEFENATELY BE BACK.thanks mel and cathy.will recommend to all our freinds

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnyhoneygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I stay here every year i love it here Cathy and Mel are fantastic, they are very welcoming, the breakfast is the best, The rooms are very tidy and it is a very friendly and a home from home, it is an excellent place to be.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamFrench19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Lovely views of surrounding area (you can see the sea from the breakfast room window) lovely room and nice shower. My room has been changed to a single bed and offers more room in their. Will definetely come again. Mel and Kathy you are excellent and a fun and friendly couple.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steamgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

A perfect family friendly B & B / hotel, for those on a budget. With bonus interest (for our 4 half year old ) of railwayana & decorative tin plate toys to look at and a large sundrenched garden for him to play in briefly with daddy while I got organised after the hearty & generous breakfast served by Cathy's husband, Mel.
If asked, Mel will chat about layouts & locos etc & his enthusiasm is infectious.
For the price you pay, you couldn't ask for anything better and the breakfast just tops it off. Cathy volunteered to let us use the dining room to eat the superb chinese food we popped out to get - the excellent takeway being just a restful 2 mins walk away at the harbour.
Our four day break certainly made a great impression and a lasting one, as our little boy
asked today (a whole month later) if it was Cathy from our holiday on the phone. Alas it was not, but is does put us in mind to phone them again asap, for another superb break.

Room Tip: Clean,practical,no frills decor but great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chilledout3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Finding the hotel was very easy. I was given a nice welcome from Cathy and Mel. My room was bigger than expecty as had only booked a single.

Although I only had toast, cereals, juice and coffee (due to the half marathon that took place). I saw the full english which looked very tempting.

After my race was invited back to freshen up before my journey home.

Here's to next years visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluegrassrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
354 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
411 reviews
1.0 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#14 of 17 in Paignton
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#16 of 17 in Paignton
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Berry Hotel
Berry Hotel
#13 of 17 in Paignton
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Villa

Address: 4 Belle Vue Road, Paignton TQ4 6ER, England (Formerly Great Western Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: £35 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Great Western Villa 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Great Western Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Villa Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing