We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

The Clifton At Paignton
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Clifton At Paignton
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Hampshire UK
2 reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We have just returned from staying at the Clifton for a long weekend . This is the sixth time we have stayed there. Freda and Steve are always very welcoming and the rooms are always clean and tidy. Breakfast is always good too.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
27
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cwm ebbw vale
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2012

we stayed here 4th and 5th may to see bike show most hotels a bit worried about boys on bikes but we had a most amazin stay .steve and his wife very nice people,could not do enough for us food exerlent rooms very clean will come again this time with wife.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Have stayed at the Clifton Hotel with my friends for the last 7 years as we are playing in chess tournament held at Oldway Mansion, which is held at the 1st week of September every year and has been ongoing since 1951. (booked again for Sept 2012)

The Clifton Hotel was the only none smoking hotel in Paignton originally which was why I / friends booked our stay for the 7 days in the first place.

Freda and Steve make you most welcome and catered for special diets and offer very reasonable rates for 7 days stay.

Higher recommended hotel for your stay in Paignton.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of excellent standard. Noise from seagulls on the roof at 5 am might suggest you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Friendly welcome with everything you would expect. We've stayed in a paignton several times and this is by far the best. Clean rooms good food and two of the nicest people you could meet. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenHolly8889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed here last week for 2 nights, Freda and Steve were very friendly and welcoming. The atmosphere is excellent for families, and a 2 minute walk to the beach. I would defintely stay there again. Only the weather and annoying Seagulls were against us!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Digital_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Just got back from paington ( an hour ago). Both me and my husband had a lovely time and we really enjoyed our stay at the cliffton. Freda was very helpful, friendly and enthusiatic. The room was spotless and comfortable, my only complaint was the seagulls who seemed to be up all night making a racket. I would recommend the cliffton to anyone looking for a warm cheerful stay. Thank you freda for making us feel at home. Julie and Tyrone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank covells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Our stay at the clifton hotel was fantastic! Lovely clean rooms, the hosts Freda and Steve were most welcoming, and very helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was outstanding (top marks) a wonderful menu, and cooked to perfection. The location was just great, sea front, and shops just a 2 min walk away, so easy to just walk out the door and onto the beach. It was a very memorable holiday and we will be making the clifton our choice of hotel to stay at on future holidays in paignton.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gill13Walsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.5 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
317 reviews
0.8 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#16 of 17 in Paignton
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
509 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton At Paignton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton At Paignton

Property: The Clifton At Paignton
Address: 9-10 Kernou Road, Paignton TQ4 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Paignton
#7 Family Hotel in Paignton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
The Clifton Paignton
The Clifton At Paignton Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing