We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first experience of Paignton”

The Clifton At Paignton
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Clifton At Paignton
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed at the Clifton from the 01 September to the 05 September. Originally we were supposed to leave on the 4 September but decided to stay another night. We had a double room with an adjoining room. Both rooms were spotlessly clean very well decorated and plenty of storage. We got met at the door by Freda with a lovely friendly welcome and refreshments for the three of us and let us into our rooms immediatley.The food was of excellent quality and we felt as if Freda and Steve couldnt do enough for us. Both have an excellent knowledge of the area.The hotel is ideally situated close to the beach and the town. We enjoyed the holiday and will definatley be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

we had three days at The Clifton from 14th August and would recommend it to any person who would like a holiday in Paignton, we were early arriving and Freda let us have our room straight away inviting us for a refreshment as well. The room was excellent very spacious,bright,well decorated with an on suite shower. The breakfasts were very well presented a good choice of fruit juices and cereals followed by a full English breakfast. The hotel is ideally situated only 2 minute walk to both the sea front and railway station and we will certainly stay there again in the future. We were able to use the bar and would write down on the honesty book what we had taken Freda and Steve are very good hosts

Room Tip: we had room 1 very bright and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerryBenidorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We had a week at The Clifton with our parents, Freda and Steve couldn't do enough for us. Rooms were well presented and spotless. Ideally situated for all amenities, it's only a 2 minute walk from the beach, if that. Lovely. Food was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

we stayed at the clifton for 3 nights and if we could we would of stayed another 3 is was that good, the clifton is warm and welcoming hotel, spotlessly clean, lovely rooms with lovely decor, Freda and steve were great hosts and we were made to feel home from home. Great choices of breakfasts, cerals, fruit, yoghurt, juices, full English using good produce, also this hotel is well situtated, its a flat walk to the sea front (5 mins) and (8mins) walk to Paignton shops etc, we will be definatly returning in the near future :D

Room Tip: we booked room 3, we had a nice view, lovely comfortable bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tina f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We have stayed at this quiet, well located "Non Smoking" hotel twice and have been made to feel instantly welcome by both Freda & Steve. The rooms are clean and well presented. We are both vegetarians and Steve cooked us nutritious and very tasty meals. The hotel is close to the beach, shops and train station. We would not hesitate to stay there again and look forward to our next visit which can't come soon enough

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We had a very enjoyable holiday for the second time at this very convenient hotel.
The food is very good and freshly cooked. Local produce Vegetables, Butter, Eggs, Jam and homemade Marmalade all add to the care taken to see the customer gets good quality food. The food is also cooked in the most healthy way. Slimmers can be sure that every effort is taken to aid their effort to lose weight, in the reduced fat style of cooking.
The Bedroom we had was clean and comfortable with complimentary tea and coffee available.
The sea is close at hand as is the town, an ideal spot to catch the train or bus for those lovely trips to the exciting places around Devon. I recommend this venue where nothing is too much trouble to ensure your stay is comfortable and of good value.

Room Tip: We found a room with en suite very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berly4thewhirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I recently stayed at this guest house and was immediately welcomed by Freda, the owner, who made me feel at home. The room had every thing needed to make me comfortable, though on the small side, being a single. It was all spotlessly clean and I enjoyed a full English breakfast with all the trimmings. cooked to order by Steve, co owner.

The hotel is ideally situated , being 100yds from the sea front and 200 yds from the main station and start of the private Paignton/Dartmouth steam train line, a must. Whilst there Freda arranged transport to the theatre at Babbacombe. Also arranged cream teas by post with which my friends were delighted. I would definitely return

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terence R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.4 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.5 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
537 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berry Hotel
Berry Hotel
#13 of 17 in Paignton
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton At Paignton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton At Paignton

Address: 9-10 Kernou Road, Paignton TQ4 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Paignton
#7 Family Hotel in Paignton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
Price Range: £26 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
The Clifton Paignton
The Clifton At Paignton Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing