We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Clifton At Paignton
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Paignton
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Berry Hotel(Paignton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marine Hotel(Paignton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Palace(Paignton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wulfruna Hotel(Paignton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queens Hotel(Paignton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
60
14
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
14
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea frontrooms are spaciousold friendspoached eggslovely coupleminute walkwithin walking distancetown centrestevecoeliachostsaccommodation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Our stay at the Clifton Hotel was a very pleasant experience Freda and Steve welcomed us as though we were family the yummy food cooked by Steve and Freda showing us the beautiful Devon countryside made our stay a very happy one. We thank them very much for the extra effort they put into making our stay such a memorable one. We hope to return to see more of Devon and will not hesitate to stay at the Clifton. Thank You so Much Lorraine Johns Australia

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Had a fantastic one night stay here. Lovely room, really clean and quiet- exactly what we needed after a bad experience in London. Freda was a wonderful hostess and Steve cooked a brilliant breakfast- recommend the poached eggs! We would recommend this hotel to anybody, and will certainly be returning. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainbow1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Thanks Freda & Steve for a sensational stay yet again. Your attention to detail, friendliness and great breakfasts were a treat. Great place to recover from our Jet lag. Enjoyed being able to stay with you in Paignton. See you soon. Richard & Sue

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We (Family of 2 adults and 2 young children) booked the Clifton at the very last minute for our long weekend away after reading the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. The place didnt disappoint us one bit. I can easily say it is the best B&B I have ever stayed in in all my trips in the UK.

Location: Great ! This is literally next to the Paignton pier (just cross the road and into the bylane - Kernou Road).

Parking: parking is in front of the hotel entrance and space for atleast 4-5 cars. No problems in parking. You also had the option of parking opposite in the council spaces lest it became a bit busy.

Welcome: The special attention started from the moment we arrived on Friday. We reached only at about 9 pm (1 hour later than what we thought we would) but were welcomed very warmly by the owners Freda and Steve. A very warm lounge and some nice hot tea awaited us after which we were shown to the family room (Room for five) on the second (top) floor.

Room: A double bed, a single bed and a bunk bed were laid out neatly with tea/coffee making facilities. The ensuite bathroom was nice with a nice shower room and didnt make us miss the bath in any way. Towels were provided for and Neutrogena accessories were provided in the bathroom and also in the room for use(hand and body lotion). There was a wardrobe to hang the coats and atleast three chest of drawers for storage. Flat screen TV with freeview channels was provided. The attention to detail was all there.

Breakfast: Three choices of Cereal, seeds to sprinkle, fruit juice, prunes, hot food, toast and fried bread, tea and filter coffee. Very filling and nutritious breakfast lovingly served by Freda betweeen 0830 to 9am.

Special mention for the owners:
Freda and Steve had an amazing knowledge of the local area be it family trips like ours or for nice walks around the place. They had every useful bit of information ready according to the type of enthusiast. Very commendable. Freda gave us a book of discount vouchers to use during our trips to the attractions that saved us money. They were so welcoming that we felt we were visiting family and even had a bag of toys for our children to play with. We had forgotten our spades and buckets for the beach but Freda was so kind to let us borrow the buckets and spades that she had with her. The evenings were spent in pleasant talk with Freda and the other residents in the welcoming lounge and recounting the days experiences.

Places visited: Cockington village, Babbacombe cliff railway, model village and Oddicombe beach, Paignton zoo, Paignton pier, Dartmouth steam railway and River cruise.

I must mention that there is an honesty bar in the lounge for the residents though I am a teetotaller myself. You can help yourself to what you need and write it down with the room number and name which then gets charged to your bill.

All in all a very wonderful trip and we loved every bit of the stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front means you can keep an eye on your car.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AVeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

we were greeted on arrival with a lovely pot of tea by Freda who made us instantly welcome.the lounge and bar area was very comfortable. Our rooms were spotlessly clean and of a good size, and nicely decorated. Because our group had 3 senior citizens we decided to have dinner in the hotel. Steve provided us with a lovely evening meal which was enjoyed by us all.If you are looking for a reasonably priced friendly hotel in a great location look no further than The Clifton Hotel in Paignton we will deffinately book again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanp58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews