We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a lovely Sunday breakfast at The Palm Tree presentation is lovely food was very good, well worth a try.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palm Tree Turkish Restaurant

The Palm Tree Turkish Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 179 Restaurants in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Had a lovely Sunday breakfast at The Palm Tree presentation is lovely food was very good, well worth a try.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We had a lovely breakfast this Sunday morning, the presentation of the food is very good and quality, will be back, they deserve to do well. It's nice to have somewhere nice to go in Paignton for a change, with good food and decor.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CorinneDoidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    26
    3
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little spark of brilliance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

Wow, the Palm Tree really isn't what you expect from Paignton!
Truely excellent food & helpful, humorous service!
My family and I (along with our 18 month old) visited for the first time a couple of weeks ago, the weather was kind and we were able to sit out in the little sun trap of a garden. As is my Dads way he asked lots of questions about local produce etc, the owner & staff were knowledgable and happy to chat. Our little boy was really well catered for & enjoyed a bowl of homemade carrot & coriander soup & a babyccino whilst the rest of us chose; a beetroot, shallot & feta frittata, a bacon & tomato quiche & enormous burgers! The coffee was excellent & the still cider my Dad chose was stunning (can't remember the name :-/)
We have been back since for deli items & lunch and are thrilled to have found such a gem of a place - we really can't recommend The Palm Tree enough!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Boosmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lunch time visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

The food was very good, in fact I would say that my Carbonara was excellent, my husband felt his scampi was a good average .Service was very slow , possibly because the pasta was freshly cooked ..We wanted to sit on the terrace as today was very warm ,it was spoilt because smoking was allowed on the terrace and in the tiny garden . I did mention this but sadly it is not the fault of the very nice waiter who served us .Ash trays were available for smokers.
It was very clean and well worth the visit, but as I dislike the smell of people smoking I will not return...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eunever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outdoor Oasis...getting sunnier!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

A limited review, as I've only visited briefly on two occasions for coffee and a light lunch.
I love the shop frontage and interior design features. So refreshing to be in an environment that reflects the year, A.D. 2012, in central Paignton! There are gorgeous little touches of relative modernity:- ( such as the well known brand name, funky tea-pots) that create an environment of ease and pleasure; plus an excellent take away mini-deli bar with wonderful breads and new brand teas/soft drinks etc.
The garden area is a little oasis, with an elevated decked shaded area and ramp down to a sunnier open decked space. The large, unutilised, herb- bed could be more usefully placed in the borders of the, as yet, unused lawn area. This would free up a substational premium dining space. The pulsating, enormous extractor fan expelling strong cooking odours over the top deck needs some thought too. Ashtrays are visibly available in a stack, which is a little disappointing in an environment that clearly aims to be something more. Perhaps they could be placed far far beyond the picket gate, away from diners.
The day time menu and menu board is crowded and needs reconsideration, as well as possible reduction of similar meals and meals that are rarely requested. Better to have twelve top-notch meals than a melange of diversity that is beyond the capacity of the kitchen, when catering for a sudden influx of guests at the same time.( This was dealt with most graciously and correct procedures were followed. Drinks first, apologies and re-assurances that would have melted the most hardened restaurant critic.) I was in no hurry. It was a joy to sit back and relax in the sunlight and witness fantastic customer service.
Of course I'm being pedantic. This is because The Palm Tree is almost, yes really! Almost that place that I want to rave about objectively as being THE place to dine/experience in Paignton at the standard it knows it's aiming to reach.
The staff are wonderfully passionate and concerned and they listen to and respond well to positive and constructive feedback.
Personally,subjectively, I've loved these two brief experiences and felt mighty happy, relaxing with lovely blended teas and a light snack. I really am looking forward to next spring/summer. Unlike others in the area, this is the newest of the new that may well turn out to be the one that really makes it. I do hope so.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Msconde M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dissapointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

disappointing to say the least supposed to eat at 7.30 starters arrived 8.30 soup was supposed to have bread no bread main course was poor asked for mussels as main meal had 12 mussels on plate charged £10 had to ask for bread and spoon was charged for bread finally finished meal at 10.30 the cafe was unable to cater for 14 people at once i for one will not go again its okay if you just want basic food but not cheap

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joeg1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Palm Tree Turkish Restaurant also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to The Palm Tree Turkish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing