We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in Paignton”
Review of Anastasia's Russian Tea Room - CLOSED

Anastasia's Russian Tea Room
Price range: US$5 - US$16
Cuisines: European, Russian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Anastasia's Russian Tea Room is located in the centre of Paignton on the English Riviera. With the historic ties between Russia and Torbay becoming evident and the ongoing growth in the relationship, the Tea Rooms offer a superb introduction to Russian cuisine and life. With a warm decor and very friendly staff you will enjoy the extensive selection of food and drink available. The collection of Russian matryoshka, samovar and other handmade goods adds to the ambiance.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Paignton”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

If you haven't visited Anastasia's tea room then you are missing a treat. Firstly the name "tea room" is misleading, although it has to be said they probably do have the widest selection of teas in the area. If you are looking for a cream tea, or lunch then this is the place for you, proper tea (no tea bags here), and home made cakes and scones.

However this isn't the only thing that the Russian Tea Room has to offer, they have a rather extensive menu of traditional Russian cuisine cooked by and prepared by people who have actually lived and worked in the country. The result is an amazing combination of beautifully prepared and cooked locally sourced produce with a Russin Twist...

It's the sort of place that you might normally stumble over in covent garden, and then only tell your select friends because you wouldn't want it to become too well known... it could easily become that place that you know.... and a place to take your friends..... but please don't tell everyone, because i can see it becoming a place to pre-book in no time at all...

I'm a very fussy person, and i give this lovely little restaurant cafe a ten out of ten - I will have to return a few more times, as there are number things on their menu that I want to try...

The service is lovely, however they do cook the food from scratch so don't expect Macdonalds speed, I just sat back and enjoyed the tranquility, and ambience of the place... the food is well worth the wait.... thanks for a lovely lunch exceptional... A 1 ... shhhhh don't tell everyone !

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank De465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    1
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable lunch”
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We were looking for somewhere to eat whilst spending a day in Paignton. There are many cafes but there didn't seem to be a lot of choice but fortunately we found Anastasia's.

Neither of us have eaten Russian food before and love to try new things so in we went. The dining room is cosy with tables made from vintage sewing machine tables.

Most things on the menu sounded interesting, it was very hard to choose. I had borsch to start. This was a very tasty soup which came with sour cream and rye bread. I followed this up with pelmeni, little dumplings filled with meat, also served with sour cream. These were very good.

I thought the portion sizes were just right although if you like big plate loads of food you might think them a little on the small side.

The honey cake sounded lovely so we shared a piece for dessert. It was good, moist and rich. We had tea to drink, served in a china pot with a tea strainer, something you don't see often.

The food was tasty and reasonably priced. It was nice to eat home made food when many places seem merely to reheat "bought in" dishes.

I wish we lived nearer as I would like to eat here again. We'll certainly revisit when we're in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshire Princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Food and Service”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Its not usual these days to get excellent food and service, this was much better than any london russian restaurant. at a third of the price. good character place. clean and fresh food cooked to order. NOTHING was too much trouble "What a differance". well done to the staff.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

Amazing food and great value for money. Would recommend to anyone. The service was just right and friendly. Great place to sample quality Russian food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank henny_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never thought Russian food was soooo good!”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Walking past these tea rooms, my husband and I stopped to look at the menu, very interesting but not our cup of tea (pun intended). A lady, who I found out to be the owner, poked her head out and informed us there was a lot more on offer inside. What the heck, we decided to give it a go for a snack. 2 hours later and totally enthralled with the place and the food, we left promising to return and try the set menu. We will, the food was tasty, well presented, healthy and nutritious. A welcome change to the norm we get in the bay!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anastasia's Russian Tea Room also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing