We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Local”
Review of The Old Manor

The Old Manor
Ranked #43 of 185 Restaurants in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Old Manor is a 17th century Grade 2 listed Thatched Pub and Restaurant, with rustic character and charm. Offering casual dining and catering for small or large functions. We source the finest and freshest ingredients from a variety of small local producers and suppliers, preferring organic produce wherever possible. Standing out in peaceful surroundings just off the bustling main road between Paignton and Torquay, it is a short stroll away from the busy sea front, and is in an ideal location to relax and unwind, with fires to keep you warm and cosy during the winter months, while during the summer, the Beer Garden is a real sun trap.
Paignton
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“My Local”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I like The Old Manor Inn. It's a traditional 'Olde Worlde', thatched roof, wooden beamed old pub/restaurant that I'm delighed to call my 'local'. I have visited many times, either alone, with friends or with family whether it was just for a drink or a meal in the restaurant. The food is good and reasonably priced, especially the Sunday roast. The drinks aren't particularly cheap like the 'chain pubs', but then this is a 'proper pub' with a wide variety if drinks and food options. Well worth the extra couple of pennies in my view.
The staff are friendly and helpful and even wear fancy dress on New Year's Eve! During the football World Cup the restaurant area has, once the diners had finished eating, been turned into a 'kind of cinema' with the football action shown on a big screen. This we all enjoyed a lot. From time to time, in the evenings, there is live music available to those who enjoy it. During these evenings, there is a quieter area available around the corner for those who don't enjoy the music quite so much. But most of the time The Old Manor Inn is simply a great old pub with a great atmosphere where you can go for a quiet drink or a bite to eat.
There is even a small but very pleasent beer garden at the rear of the pub where you can eat and drink in the summer sunshine, or during other seasons if you're hardy enough. There is also a spacious covered smoking area close by. There is also a handy good sized car park.
I may be a little biased, this being my local, but I would reccommend The Old Manor Inn to anyone, locals and visitors alike.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    21
    4
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Club outing”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Nice little pub for a drink with friends. They were not serving food while we were there but managed to get a few chips. Greatly appreciated.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Locals Only methinks”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Saw the place on tripadvisor and, as a fan of old pubs, I thought we'd pay the place a visit. On arrival was slightly annoyed to watch a young lad park his car in the one remaining disabled spot and jog in for his pint. Really should have taken it as a warning, and left there and then.

The bar was dark, there was zero atmosphere and the bar staff were unfriendly, borderline hostile. One bald member of staff decided to glare at us every time we caught his eye. If you add the loud foul language being used by the locals, I'd say it was not at all welcoming. We were looking for somewhere to have lunch, and ended up having a quick half and leaving!!

The only thing that has prevented a terrible rating is the beer. It wasn't bad, not great but ok. Would not recommend this place to anyone who is not a local.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A good old pub with good food.”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is an old pub in the centre of Preston Paignton. It is run by a young couple who are very attentive to their customers. You get large helping and the cost was only £10 for 2 carvery meals ( succulent beef.) The atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming... They show football matches on Sky in their lounge, and have facilities for nine pin skittles, which is popular with groups. Good choice of real ales and many other beers, wines and spirits, as may be expected. Quick service.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 6Colin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection. The food and the staff!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Just wanted to let everyone know what a fabulous time we had when we booked to have our wedding reception here on 31st August.
The staff were absolutely AMAZING. The food was AWESOME.
WELL ABOVE our expectations! I can honestly say it was perfect.
THANK YOU so much to you all.
I want to make sure the people behind the scenes aren't forgotten too. A lovely older gentleman who put up a gazebo outside the skittle alley so we had a place to sit and have a fag, the kitchen staff who helped with making us cuppas in the morning whilst we were decorating the alley, the bar staff who were just so eager to please and cleared up and the end of the night, and to Martin for supplying us with bacon butties and employing such wonderful staff! All so very helpful and with not a hint of it "being their job" attitude. Truly wonderful people. Thank you. xxxxxxxx

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HoneyLipsHeselton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Manor also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to The Old Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing