We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

The Cattlemans Steakhouse
Ranked #15 of 182 Restaurants in Paignton
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We went there because I had never been there before and wanted to try it out. Steak was amazing cooked it on a volcanic rock but you couldn't have it not on a volcanic rock because they can't cook it well but they can cook the rest e.g chips etc. lovely inside little bit pricey though

Helpful?
1 Thank Keiraa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    55
    23
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good steaks, average service, a bit pricey”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Took the steak-loving family to The Cattleman's. We tried the fillet and rump steaks, both cooked by the kitchen and on hot stones. The latter does cause a bit of smoke which caused a few sore eyes, but did give control over how well cooked the steaks are. The kitchen-cooked steaks were slightly over done for two (medium-well instead of medium), but mine was spot on (medium-rare). The onion rings were good, as was the chips and jacket potatoes. The sauces were good and we thought the blue cheese was the pick.

We had starters (pâté, deep fried Brie and chicken wings) which we thought were good (the wings particularly so). Four of the family had soft drinks, and the three cokes were all flat. The waiter rectified this upon request, which was good service. Unfortunately this stellar service was impacted by the attention given. To be fair a large group was in the restaurant and took a lot of attention, which I suspect was the cause.

We didn't have desserts so can't comment on these.

So a good meal but the prices were towards the top-end (£25 per fillet steak) for a steakhouse.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ghotine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Favourite meal out for years!”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We found this restaurant through trip advisor and were not disappointed.

On approach to the restaurant we were a little concerned as this is in a converted house/old B&B, but we need not have been.

We received a warm welcome from the friendly owner who promised this would be our best steak ever and that we would be shaking his hand on our way out thanking him for an amazing meal - he was not wrong!

We took on board recommendations from our waiter - I had the fillet steak and my husband the rib eye. Both were good cuts of meat - I'm usually really fussy about steak as I cannot bear any grissly bits.

We fully enjoyed the hot rock experience - complete with bibs - allowing you to cook your meat as you wish.

Unfortunately we live in Norwich so have been unable to repeat the experience, but hope to visit again on another holiday.

Would definitely recommend to all meat lovers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best steak ever!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Following the excellent trip advisor reviews and recommendations from several friends, we visited last week for the first time with friends. We all opted for the 12oz fillet on the volcanic stone! Wow, just wow, absolutely fantastic! Can't wait to return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzywooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, england
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

It was my sons 18th so we clearly wanted it to be special. We wasn't disappointed ! It was fab excellent food excellent service from Dave the owner top night thx Dave Mark Helen & Daniella & a big thank you from Andy for the shots ;0)

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cattlemans Steakhouse also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Cattlemans Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing