We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bunch of people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reach Outdoors

Reach Outdoors
Ranked #2 of 7 Tours in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Reach Outdoors brings a fresh approach to outdoor adventure. We have a real passion for the outdoors, and constantly see development opportunities in all that we do. We are based in the heart of the South West, enabling us to have a mobile approach to our provision. We understand that local knowledge is imperative, which is why we've scoured the region so that we can take you to it's very best locations.The Reach Outdoors philosophy is to use the outdoor environment as a medium to release potential, developing the whole person and encouraging the transfer of acquired skills to everyday life.
1 review
“Great bunch of people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Did Duke of Edinburgh Gold Award with these guys doing Sea Kayaking, which includes training, a practice expedition and another qualifying expedition. The lessons we were taught were top notch, and the equipment we used was all brand new or in fantastic condition. The instructors and assessors were obviously very knowledgable about the subject and the technique, and they made a gruelling series of long days far more manageable than it may have been otherwise. Would fully recommend Reach Outdoors for an expedition like this or a shorter event, based on my experiences.

Adam

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Coasteering with the Rugby Girls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Team bonding required.... after many different suggestions, coasteering was an experience most of us had never done. Very informative website and very quick and easy booking a date and taking of payment. Email included easy directions for parking facilities (free), and on our arrival we were met by Rachel from the Reach Outdoors Team. The equipment available was to accommodate all of our sizes. After a briefing and signing our lives away we made our way down to the shore line for the fun to really begin. Once acclimatised to the water we set off over the rocks, and from there on there was a mixture of various climbs, swims and the mastering of different styles of water entry. Rachel our guide was very enthusiastic and was able to coax even the most timid of our group to push themselves outside of their comfort zone, and gave them the confidence to give it a go. I for one experienced a great feeling off achievement when I jumped from the Tombstone rock, a height of approximately 6m. Really enjoyed entering the caves and again Rachel was really informative of the local wildlife and conservation of the area we were in. Time flew by and a little relaxing float in the sea to catch our breath at the end of the session and marvel at what we had just achieved. Overall an awesome experience which I will most definitely do again with more members of my family. I would definitely recommend Reach Outdoors as a company promoting coasteering and due to the competence of the guides, will be looking to try out their kayaking sessions later this summer. The whole team were buzzing afterwards. Jo

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great activity day for our Scouts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our Scout troop visited the Torbay area for Summer Camp this year and had a fantastic day last week with the Team from Reach Outdoors (Rachel, James, Abigail and Kieran). They were all very professional and able to get even the most timid of our Scouts to do the activities! The encouragement to step out of the 'comfort zone' was gentle and we were very confident in the teams abilities to safely instruct our Scouts on each activity. Several of them have said the day was their highlight of the whole week and were very proud of their achievement. We would highly recommend them to other youth groups and will use them again the next time we camp in the area. Thanks to all the team at Reach Outdoors!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great afternoon out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Really great afternoon out. Patient, calm instructors found perfect balance between managing risk and pushing us to push ourselves. Recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt_SE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldicot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful day, beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had a beautiful, sunny day in an idyllic location. An easy pace, no pressure, gentle encouragement all lead to a fabulously fun and exhilarating experience. Thanks Phil for your instruction.
Excellent birthday present, thanks Louise!!
Would definitely recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reach Outdoors also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Reach Outdoors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing