We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pier Inn - CLOSED

The Pier Inn
Price range: US$4 - US$6
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Family friendly pub with a great atmosphere. Lovely homemade food cooked to great quality and great value for money.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

great pub if you have kids they have pool football game frog bashing game to kid entertained also have a terrace which overlooks the habour and also do a cavery great place

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank b k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value food. Family friendly pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Tried this pub on our recent visit (normally go to wetherspoons etc when in Paignton). We (family of 4) were pleasantly surprised. The meals were cheap and the bar staff very helpful. The children had a burger meal which they both enjoyed and we had the £5 carvery. We thought for a fiver it would be a couple off thin slices of meat and load up with veg... wrong! We had masses of well cooked meat which almost filled our plates before the spuds and veg (which also were very good). and if you could manage it a range of puds for just 99p!! After we went up to the roof terrace for a couple of drinks where you can look out over the harbour. Downstairs is a large games room to keep the kids happy. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Cheap but not very good, went in with the promise of a cheap carvery, when we tried to order was told there was not enough veg. The boards were still advertising the carvery when we left. The waitress was helpful but would not return, you get what you pay for. The high-chair was supposed to balance on a normal chair, did not risk this.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New management new refurb great food and value !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Ive lived in paignton all my life and the pier inn has never been that great.. i noticed one day a couple of weeks ago that it had closed and was being taken over.. a few weeks later i saw it had opened and popped in to try there food and see if anything was different and i must say it looks amazing in there now outside looks very good and has changed.. the inside is very clean new carpets and a new paint job.. the food was very good with a good menu to start there business with excellent value for money.. rump steak with all the trimmings for just over 6 pound ! The service was very good and the new owners also have another pub in totnes and do carverys there.. the pier inn are starting carverys also and saw that they are only 5 pound on weekdays and 5.95 on a sunday this pub is going to get bigger and better and i wish them all the best !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntwood
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dog friendly pub in Paignton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Friendly & welcoming service, good value for money and excellent views over Paignton harbour.
Allows dogs in allocated areas. Found whilst on holiday in Paignton and would recommend a visit. Wednesday is steak night. A venue used by the locals.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank westie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pier Inn also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing