We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best home cooked food!”

Chandlers Coffee Shop Bistro
Ranked #14 of 182 Restaurants in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best home cooked food!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stumbled across this cafe whilst walking down the high street, on first impression cafe seemed a bit dated .... But was I wrong great friendly staff and absolutely gorgeous homemade food, perfect for what we were looking for! The cottage pie was yummy, so much so we ate here again on our last night in Paignton.
Your staff are so polite and welcoming an asset to your cafe, your food is gorgeous and my only complaint is we didn't find you on the first day of our holiday as we would of ate here every night.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 212bobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    49
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We found Chandlers on our first day of the holiday. I had a lovely leek and potato soup with a warmed baguette, whilst my partner had a chicken panini. We really enjoyed the small but cute atmosphere and friendly staff. We then went back on our way home to have the carrot and coriander soup which was equally as nice! Would recommend Chandlers to anyone who fancies some nice home cooked food or a light snack.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda W, Owner at Chandlers Coffee Shop Bistro, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Chandlers and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Paignton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top nosh!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Been in every day this week can't fault the food or the excellent service, my only negatives are your charged for paying with a debit card and the 4.30 early closing time else well worth a visit!

Helpful?
1 Thank krenim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda W, Owner at Chandlers Coffee Shop Bistro, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Pleased to see that you enjoyed your experience at Chandlers. With regard to the 4.30 closing, what a shame you were not a little later in the year as from this coming Saturday 26th July we will be open till 8.30pm. Hope to see you on your next visit to the bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Comfort food on a wet afternoon”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Popped in to get out of the rain, tempted by the offer of a cream tea and an ice cream sundae. We were not disappointed. The service was pleasant and efficient, the food was delicious and the atmosphere was calm and relaxed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pedantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hot chocolate!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stopped in here to avoid the rain and were very glad we did!! The staff were friendly and the hot chocolate was very tasty!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank littlestephm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chandlers Coffee Shop Bistro also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Chandlers Coffee Shop Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing