We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value breakfast, lots of options - much better than Weatherspoons!”
Review of Grand Central Bar

Grand Central Bar
Ranked #11 of 187 Restaurants in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Torbay's premier sports bar, serving breakfast from 8am daily, full lunch/dinner menu from 12noon including a Vegan & Gluten Free 'Free From' menu. We have a great selection of drinks and coffee and welcome 4 legged friends
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Having visited Paignton many times over the years we had missed breakfast in our hotel so decided to eat here, great food, great value and plenty of choice, the service is fast and friendly and well worth the visit we had eaten in the Weatherspoons the previous morning and this place is far far superior in every way! They have some nice touches such as being able to add bubble and squeak to a breakfast which was popular with the some of the men in our group! They also don't seem to mind some fussy eaters swapping items etc

Thank cashaxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 220 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have been here a few times over the last few years. Always head here for breakfast when in the area cant fault anything friendly staff excelkent quality of food good selection on the menu superb. Definitely worth a visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sharon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Visited here for a roast Sunday lunch and a pint! It was delicious, the beef melted in the mouth and the gravy was really tasty. Nice sized portion of roast beef, roast potatoes, Yorkshire pudding and a generous serving of vegetables (properly cooked, not just waved over a boiking kettle) served in a separate tureen. I enjoyed it so much I made a second visit later in the week, having the chicken roast. £6.50 or two for £11 Bargain!

Thank Marvinandroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Me & my boyfriend used to live in Paignton & at first, we would always go to The Flagship pub to eat but when we found that it started to go downhill, we decided to look for somewhere else to go. We had been into the Grand Central for drinks before but never food so we decided to give it a go. As soon as you walk in, you can tell that there are a lot of people who are regulars in there which gives it more of a friendly feel to it straight away. That is also due to the friendliness of the staff, especially the manager who always comes to your table to make sure everything is ok with your food & just to have a chat with you & get to know you which makes you feel really special. The fact that the food is also lovely is a bonus. We have now moved away from Paignton but whenever we go back, we always make sure to visit the Grand Central.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HurtsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Got stuck in traffic for ages driving into this resort this morning and by the time we neared the car park Hubby was bursting for the loo (really desperate). As there was a space round the corner from this place he nipped in quick and explained (politely) he was desperate and could he use the toilet, to which he was told in no uncertain terms NO!
Can't comment on the food as needless to say we avoided the place like the plague for the rest of our visit! We now know where not to visit when in the area again.
Thanks for nothing Grand Central!

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank CNSHELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nathjstanton, Manager at Grand Central Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

The toilets are for customer use only, this particular time you came in was during the half marathon and numerous people will try to use the facilities especially during an event as such. There are public toilets situated around the corner.
We operate a "come as stranger - leave as friend" policy, sadly I/we feel saddened you have used trip advisor in spite as you could not get your own way, especially not even eating/drinking in the establishment to help establish a accurate review. MGMT.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Central Bar also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Grand Central Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing