We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not brill”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Central Bar

Grand Central Bar
Ranked #14 of 181 Restaurants in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Not brill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a reasonable brunch when we arrived very prompt.When we called in for lunch later in the week oh boy what an eye opener. We are a family of four and went in about 2.15 for the meal. We ordered a starter and our grandson had his mains with our starter which we did`nt ask for. Not a prob. Well we had only just started our starter and the main came and the waitress just stood there we were gobsmacked. We said we have only just got these ..reply well some people like their main with it. She just stood there,are you taking them back but she stood there and we said just put them down. When we tried the salad on them it hadn`t been washed. It had so much grit and crunch in it the food was not good. That night we all had upset tums. Didn`t go back

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mildenhall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    63
    18
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast, service and place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

What a find! Full vegetarian or usul hot breakfast with tea at a great price! American style pancake stacks with maple syrup for the small children filled them up a treat! Great service, comfortable, open from 8am, we went back both mornings and would highly recommend.
If you are desperate to get on the beach, they do take away breakfasts! How cool is that?

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lovenewplacesBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“food excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

best pub i have every been in food sports top notch u must have been piissed or on drugs or eating in winstons next door staff always and friendly and healpful you must be off ur rockers lisa and darren silvester

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank darren s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great central”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Fantastic sports bar plus food is great...its a must GOTO pub if your visiting the bay,stayed in Paignton for 16 months went there 3 to 4 nights a week had a great time got a lot of mates there now looking forward to visiting again,staff are very professional good luck for the future mal and Tracy Taffy hillbillies.......

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank richard d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brixham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

The staff and owners ( Tracy & Malcolm ) are all friendly and helpful . The breakfast is the best you can sit outside and watch the world go by . And if you like sport he as big screens with all the football games showing

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shelley r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Central Bar also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Grand Central Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing