We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean & very homely atmosphere.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Devon House Guest House
Ranked #15 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Very clean & very homely atmosphere.”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed in the family room, & found Devon house to be very clean. We were looked after very well by the owners who were helpful all the time whenever needed. The rooms were cleaned twice a day, the breakfast was nice. The location was perfect for the whole families needs. I would recommend Devon House to any family, couple or single person.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_lally1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    23
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
59
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
forest of dean
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stopped for three nights with the wife, a very clean and welcoming b & b. The breakfasts were great, similar to an all you can eat buffet. The tea and coffee facilities provided in the rooms get restocked daily which was a welcome change to all the bad b&b's out there. The bathroom is stocked with all the potions you would need similar to a good quality hotel. For a couple who are new to running a b&b hats off to them.
Thanks from Kev & Tree.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Had a 3 night break here which was excellent all round! The owners were professional but also friendly. The room was lovely, clean, modern and relaxing. Breakfast could not have been better, plenty of choice and very tasty! The location was perfect, walking distance from the shops, bars and seafront. I cannot praise the guest house highly enough, lovely personal touches such as the turned down sheets at night and the mints on the pillows. We will definetely be back and would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The changes made to the hotel are brilliant i barely recognised it from staying there previously.
It is now fresh and modern, with clean spacious rooms all up to date with en-suite, tv, tea/coffee making facilities.
Close to town, train station and sea front family friendly with excellent buffet breakfast with a range of choices.
Staff are always on hand and are friendly and professional great value for money had an excellent stay and would deffinatly reccomend it have already booked to go back next year :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl-Anne-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This guest house was only open for business a month or so when we stayed, but you'd think the owners had been running it for years. They are so friendly and helpful, but also very professional hosts.The standard of accommodation was excellent. The rooms are bright, airy and newly decorated. Breakfast is done buffet style, and on a par with much more expensive hotels.

It helps that the location is brilliant too. Its less than 2 minutes walk to the beach, or to the high street, but still in a quiet street. The only sound at night was the seagulls.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Fantastic stay - spacious, modern rooms with really comfortable beds. Newly decorated with crisp white sheets and fluffy towels. Brilliant owners who couldn't do enough for you. Nice and close to the pier and the beach - but in a quiet road. We've stayed in loads of places and we think this is one of the best value ever for the quality. Loved it and will be back!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Annoying7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The owners were excellent hosts, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Room was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated, great breakfast. Well situated 2min walk to beach front. Ideal for us as we didn't have a car. I enjoyed my stay and would definitely recommend this guest house, thank you for making my holiday memorable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.6 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Waters Lodge
Blue Waters Lodge
#3 of 96 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Cherwood
The Cherwood
#26 of 96 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cherry Tree Hotel
Cherry Tree Hotel
#17 of 96 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingswinford Guest House
Kingswinford Guest House
#4 of 96 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon House Guest House

Property: Devon House Guest House
Address: Guest House 20 Garfield Road, Paignton TQ4 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Devon House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devon House is a beautiful Victorian family run guest house. It has undergone a major renovation programme and has recently been awarded an AA 4 Star Gold rating. The bedrooms all have their own en-suites and have been decorated and furnished to maximise their generous space enabling you plenty of room to relax and unwind after a busy day sight seeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Devon House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon House Guest House Paignton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing