We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Standard!!!”
Review of East in the West

East in the West
Ranked #7 of 185 Restaurants in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top Standard!!!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

One of the best Indian restaurants ever.
Having watched the cookery show of Chef Dinesh in torquay food festival I decided to visit East in the west for a family meal. We had a warm welcome on arrival and the staffs were very attentive and helpful. Food was served in copper buckets which I think was a clever idea. I should say having had Indian meal in different regions in UK, this was the best ever Indian I've had. Very different and tasty with top notch service. Well done to Dinesh & team.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    65
    25
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Very nice dining experience”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Food was excellent and so was the service. Nice friendly staff and a comfortable setting. Highly recommend this place. I had the biryani and it was very nice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mcilquham21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Indian Restaurant (May 2014)”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I was having a couple of nights stay in Paignton with my wife, on the evening of 8th May we went to the East in the West resturant. We were greeted by a very nice waiter who was polite and nothing was to much trouble for him. We were given a menu which had curries specifically to this restuarant, the dishes were based on north Indian cuisine. They do have a traditional menu with food that is on offer as in all Indian Restaurants. We chose food from the special menu, I have to say the curry was absolutley superb making the normal Madras rather bland. If you want good Indian food then look no further, if there was a rating of 6 I would give it on the food we had here. The restuarant setting is rather rustic but I felt it added charm of the meal, I think if you want a meal on a Friday or Saturday you would need to book as the restuarant is not very big. We met the chef and he was a very clean looking man, and wow can he make a curry.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phillip s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Want to go back”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The pepper lamb was one of the very best meals I ever had anywhere regardless of cuisine type. Beautifully balanced sensation of spices, mint, and textures. Pleasant decor and caring service was an additional plus. I live thousands of miles from this restaurant but am already figuring out how I can go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First Visit”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

A superb meal and service at this Restaurant , my friend had been a bit worried about trying Indian Food but she really enjoyed it , we will certainly go again and will recommend it to our friends

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tuppney2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed East in the West also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to East in the West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing