We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful,pituresque and peaceful place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norwegian Wood Organic Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norwegian Wood Organic Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #71 of 100 Paignton B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“beautiful,pituresque and peaceful place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

this was a lovely b&b situated off a quiet road. overlooking the sea and woodland at the back. very peaceful environment with walks to the beach. paigntn town not far about 4 min drive.rooms were beautifully decorated.breakfast was fantastic with good nutrisous variety. would defenetly return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annaharding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I stayed here in October half term with my 3 children and I couldn't have picked a better place. Heather and John were so welcoming. Heather was great with the children and even took them out in the garden showing them the wildlife. The situation is beautiful and there are stunning views.
The family room is superb, pleanty of space and nicely decorated, wonderful views . The communal lounge area outside the bedroom is a great addition meaning you are all contained in your own annex area. Heather didn't let the other room out whilst we were there so we had the whole area to ourselves which was perfect. Breakfast was wonderful, fresh organic food, my 7 year old loved having the most divine organic mushrooms on toast every morning.
Immaculately clean. I haven't one bad thing to say. So much better than a travelodge. Great value.
My 9 year old has this to say - I loved staying here because we had a lovely bedroom with lots of space as well as VERY nice views ! Oh! I nearly forgot ,the food was AMAZING!

Room Tip: Ideal accomodation for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMCB041217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Row
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed a weekend there in October. The view from the garden and rooms gives a very mediterranean feeling thanks to the pines. Very welcome when the weather worsens in Britain! But this is just part of the charm of the house, which is on the hillside above Paignton. Very nice shared bathroom and common space, very clean, cosy room with occasionally a friendly cat visiting. A cat temptation, this extremely good mattress.
Heather's -and John's - welcome is heartful. She is a nutritionist and a dedicated organic host and cooks accordingly - very nice breakfasts and dinner.
Staying there we had a very happy time and rested well. Paington is not very special, but the wider area wants you awake! Torbay, Totnes, Dartington, Dartmouth, Dartmoor are readily accessible.
We will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms have similar sizes, the Family room has a slightly better sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mic299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Norwegian Wood B&B at the end of July start of August whilst I played in the British Chess Championships in Torquay. What a beautiful place, fantastic views over Torbay, amazing gardens, and a very comfortable room. We were slightly concerned that we would have a shared bathroom but no worries as Heather explained that if you book for a week they don't usually let the other room, therefore you have the run of the upstairs to yourself. Sitting room with fridge and TV, bathroom/toilet and bedroom.
Breakfast is great, very flexible on times and a great choice of organic produce.
Ideal spot for exploring the coastal path, we walked to Brixham one day and got the bus back and also went as far East as Exmouth. Both Paignton and Torquay were walking distance for us at approximately 1.5 miles, each, but the bus service is also frequent.
The Indian restaurant at the bottom of the road to the right is awesome too.

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in August and what an amazing find it was! The view from our room was stunning, looking out over the beautiful garden, across the bay and out to sea. Friends we showed the photo to thought we were abroad! The guest house is tucked away off the main road in lovely peaceful and leafy surroundings of a valley just a few minutes from Hollicombe beach. It's one of the quieter beaches and when we were there, we had it to ourselves.

We had struggled to find accommodation with it being the height of summer, that was affordable and accepted children under 5, so I was delighted to find that such beautiful looking B&B had a vacancy at a very reasonable price and no extra charge for our son. The detached house dates from 1925 and has lovely original features such a large rooms and stained glass. The gardens are beautiful and guests are welcome to use them.

As we were the only guests at the time, we had the top floor to ourselves, which consisted of a large bedroom with seaview, a lovely modern bathroom and a very nice lounge area. Each room had roof windows so there was a great deal of natural light as well as lovely views. The lounge area was perfect for us as we are a family with a young son. After he went to bed, we could sit next door to our room, in the lounge chatting or watching the tv without disturbing him, knowing he was safe. There is also a small fridge for guests to use in the lounge, which was very handy. There is a drinks tray in the bedroom and plenty of storage including a large wardrobe.

The owners are welcoming, friendly and helpful. I usually feel a bit uncomfortable staying in someone else's home, but not here. One evening when we returned, we were asked if we wanted some milk for our little boy's bedtime drink, which I thought was very kind.

On our first evening as we were unpacking, we realised to our horror that we'd forgotten to pack our son's teddy. Luckily, he hadn't noticed as he'd seen some in the lounge area. Heather, the owner, put one on his bed and he was inseparable from it the whole time we were there. On the morning we left, Heather gave the teddy to our son and it goes almost everywhere with him now!

We wish we had booked to stay longer, as our next stop was nowhere near as lovely, and will definitely go back when next in the area. Norwegian Wood is the most peaceful and welcoming B&B we've stayed in. The owners really do go the extra mile and they have the most beautiful house and gardens with a fantastic view which leaves you feeling very relaxed during your stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPJW09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#67 of 100 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.0 mi away
Garfield Lodge
Garfield Lodge
#60 of 100 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
0.6 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#13 of 18 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.3 mi away
Paignton Court Hotel
Paignton Court Hotel
#23 of 100 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norwegian Wood Organic Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norwegian Wood Organic Bed and Breakfast

Property: Norwegian Wood Organic Bed and Breakfast
Address: Norwegian Wood Hollacombe Lane, Paignton TQ3 2DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First floor accommodation with glorious sea views over the English riviera.Two double rooms one with a single bed and the other with a double sofa bed. Can accommodate a family of six.Singles also very welcome.Children under ten free.Shared lounge and bathroom with shower. Green, Sustainable organic/free range bed and breakfast with multi choice menu plus evening meal options. Two cats so if allergic this is not for you. Children very welcome. Special diets a pleasure. Safe parking. Close to all amenities and public transport.SWCP .John Musgrove trail. Scadson wood. Torquay and Paignton Railway stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Norwegian Wood Organic Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwegian Wood Organic Bed And Breakfast Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing