We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place.”
Review of Berry Hotel

Berry Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Berry Hotel
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Croydon, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place.”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

After being mislead by our original booking elsewhere we were lucky to find this place with the vacancies we required at no notice. We were able to grab a family room and two double rooms (given to us at single rate as we'd asked for singles).

The service was perfectly decent. We spoke to both the owner and her son who runned the place together and both seemed courteous and hospitable, happy to chat to all of us. During breakfast we were served quickly.

The rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. The three rooms we had all had en-suits with showers (although a communal bathroom was also located on the first floor with a bath), ample storage and floor space, LCD televisions on double-hinged brackets (so they could be viewed anywhere in the room), and dressers providing desk-space to sit at. Additionally the free wifi internet access offered is perfectly substantial, with 4 separate access points ensuring the entire place is covered.

There was a communal lounge although only small and featuring only a few chairs and a television. There is also a small area to sit outside the front of the hotel ideal for smokers.

The hotel is located virtually next-door to a live music pub. This was great for us as we had somewhere to grab a pint, something to eat, or catch the karaoke on a Monday night, but it did mean leaving windows open at night could lead to overhearing arguments at closing time. Not much of an issue though as the area is very nice and people tend to behave themselves :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheMooDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stay their on the 4th may 2013 as we here for the BMAD . Got to the hotel and the owner came out which was nice , the room was lovely as we only stayed one night . We were only 2 mins away from the sea front and all BMAD activities and town . It was quiet stay didnt here much from outside . Breakfast was lovely too . Parking was very good as they had their own parking . Would stay again :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We had a fantastic stay at The Berry Hotel, very comfy and lovely friendly hosts. The breakfast kept us going most of the day and we look forward to rebooking with this hotel again. It is located close to all that you need, trips to the moors etc as well as beach too. Lots of things to do and see in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

you can park your car there, that's the nice bit. just some steps and you are at the beach. but don't go thinking the price for your stay is fixed. we spent two nights there. first stay: twin bedded room, 70 pounds. we found a folder: if you spend a night after the 2nd of september there the twin bedded will cost 66 pounds. so we payed too much we thought. we got left out at breakfast, had to ask for everything feeling stupid 'cos the table wasn't laid, but couldn't swap tables 'cos your room number shows you where to sit. you get breakfast from 8:30-9 a.m., they start cleaning the tables while you are eating. we drove on and got to some even [--] "hotel" than this one. ok, so we'll spend another night at berry hotel we thought, at least the sat-navi will find it and we won't spend the whole day searching for a b+b... I phoned berry hotel: double bedded room for 62 pounds - wow, we thought, cheaper than last time. when we arrived there at 9 p.m. we got a twin bedded (he had looked up which room we got the previous stay) room for 70 pounds. we got the folder and asked: ok, so you said it's 62 pounds. now it's 8 more. the high season is over, so it must be 66 for a twin bedded. - no, 'cos you have to pay 2 pounds per person extra for a single night, see? so much for service on the customer. we wanted the double bedded room: oh sorry, we are full, you can't change rooms now. at breakfast half the tables were deserted, not even laid.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank feedonsandwiches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed at the Berry Hotel for 3 nights, our room was huge and the stay was lovely. Really cheery and friendly owner who offered for us to leave our car parked at the hotel on the last day of our stay until we left to go home which was really appreciated. Lovely breakfast served very quickly. Located right behind a great pub which has live music and a pooltable. Only very tiny downside was that there isn't a hairdryer in the room which means you have to nip downstairs to borrow one when you need it but other than that perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at Berry hotel, the two of us and 3 kids. We all enjoyed our stay and the owners were amazing they really looked after us, making sure we had the right size rooms for the kids. Our rooms were spotlesslly clean and of a good size for a family room. Breakfast was also very good with plenty to go around. The location was brilliant for the seafront and pier. We would defiantly be back again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Giles O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Enjoyed 4 nights here - marvellous brekky, fair sized room everything clean and tidy. Ignore review about 'old lady' - there are no old people employed here. As for wanting payment upfront,all hotels do now (there are people who put off paying and then invent reasons not to pay, e.g., no beef for breakfast!!!) No, this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgethetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.5 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
316 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
383 reviews
0.8 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berry Hotel

Property: Berry Hotel
Address: 6-7 Berry Square, Paignton TQ4 6AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Berry Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Berry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing