We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Torbay Sands Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rosslyn Hotel(Paignton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Palace(Paignton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Berry Hotel(Paignton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
138
9
3
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
138
9
3
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea roomsea viewsunday roastcomplimentary drink on arrivalmarine paradecul de sacview from the dining roomovernight stopnothing is too much troublewarm welcomefreshly cooked breakfastvisit friendsdog friendly hotelfeel very welcomefantastic stayfantastic hotelreturn in the future
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Booked in last weekend because of having to do a flying visit to Torbay because of a relative's illness. It was the first time I had stayed here for 25 years and didn't know what to expect, especially as it was very much out of season. I was very pleasantly surprised. Rooms are spotless, and nothing too much trouble for hosts Martin and Carol. If you are planning a holiday in Torbay this is where you should stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveluc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

we have just been on our first holiday at this hotel, and cannot recommend it highly enough. Carol and Martin are lovely people and make you feel very welcome as soon as you walk through the door. The hotel is very clean and rooms are excellent. Martin cooks a top rate breakfast. Thank you to both Carol and Martin for a lovely stay and we will be back for another holiday very soon .....Sue , Chris and the " gate crasher " Lee

Room Tip: sea view is exceptional as hotel is only a few yards from the sea.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUSAN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Once again I stayed with Carol and Martin at their Torbay Sands Hotel. The rooms were clean and tidy and the upstairs rooms, 12 and 14, have the best views of Torbay from Brixham right across to Torquay. Nothing is ever too much trouble for the effervescent Carol and Martin's breakfast set me up for the rest of the day. I stayed here for three nights for less than it would have cost me for one night at the Redcliffe Hotel.

Room Tip: As above the sea view rooms have to be the best.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We've just returned from a long weekend, staying at the Torbay Sands Hotel.

Many other reviews talk of the warm welcome that they received and we would certainly echo this. In my own case, this part of Paignton goes back to my own childhood. We spent many a family holiday at Preston beach and in those days, we had a beach hut on the sea front. Preston beach is much less commercialised then the nearby Paignton and Goodrington beaches. It's ideal for families with kids as well as for older people because the sand is good and the bathing is safe. It is very pleasant for those who enjoy being at the sea side. The Torbay sands hotel is situated literally on the promenade at Preston beach. It could not be better located. The view from our window is attached and it was just wonderful to wake up each morning to the seascape across Torbay. There is a railway line to the rear of the property but the trains did not in any way disturb us. They are close to Paignton station so are not travelling fast in any case.

There are a few parking spaces on site and I would imagine that with a 'full house' these will become fully occupied. There is also free street parking available on the road outside although this will become congested in the summer when there are lots of people at the beach.

WiFi was provided foc but it was a little intermittent in the way it worked.

Our room was not large but not too small for comfort. It was entirely adequate and was spotlessly clean. There are low ceilings on the staircases so tall people might be advised to duck as they go up and down the stairs. The overall decor of the place was pretty good. It was well kept, clean and not overly fussy. The bed was very comfortable with good quality bed linen. We had two excellent nights sleep.

Breakfasts were served in a conservatory type of room at the front of the building overlooking the beach. Full English breakfast was very good and especially enjoyable semi 'al fresco' but my only slightly negative observation was the times at which it was available - 0830 to 0900. I am not a 'morning person'. Many will not mind such an early breakfast but it was a little too early for me. We were supposed to be on holiday after all! That said, Carol and Martin run the whole place themselves without outside help and will have their work cut out to do all the housekeeping if they are having to make breakfasts at all hours.

It had been in actual fact a 'second choice' for us. We had initially inquired of the nearby Redcliffe Hotel but found them to be expensive and not very helpful. We ended up booking at the Torbay Sands Hotel who were a fraction of the price. So would we stay at the Torbay Sands again? You bet we would! Rather than being second choice, it is now first choice. It is superbly located, it is superbly run and for the price charged, you will not find better. If you want a corporate, chromium plated, formulaic hotel stay, then you would be best advised to find such an establishment. If you want a well run clean, friendly and value for money stay then the Torbay Sands fits the bill very well indeed.

Hope this is helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gastropod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We travel to Paignton regularly and stay at the Torbay Sands. Carol and Martin are always cheerful and make us most welcome. The rooms overlooking the sea have fantastic views across the bay to Torquay and Brixham, as does the breakfast room. The rooms are always spotlessly clean. Parking is available right outside, which isn’t always the case in the area. Breakfast is tasty and efficient, and our usual orders remembered. The location is perfect for the beach and walks along the coast to Paignton and beyond.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are well worth the slightly higher cost.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews