We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St Marguerite Guest House
Ranked #36 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 April 2011

I have stayed at St Marguerite twice on business trips. The rooms are excellent as is the breakfast. This is a real find and I will certainly go there again when next in Paignton

Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank SergeLourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2010

We all had a wonderfull time , Richard and Jill were great hosts, lovely guest house. Will return in future.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

I stayed here with my partner and baby for 1 week. The owners were so kind and very welcoming. The service was excellent. The room we stayed in was perfect, very clean and bright. Travel cot was provided. Room was cleaned everyday and tea tray restocked. Breakfast was great, you could help yourself to cereal, yoghurt & fresh fruit salad. Followed by full English breakfast. Delicious.
Train station close by and town centre. Paignton Zoo and splashdown within walking distance also. perfect location. Lovely beach. Lots to do
Overall experience was excellent and we have booked to stay again next year!


Describe the service you experienced
Tell us how you liked the room
Talk about the location & amenities
Say what you liked best & least

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarlettminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Alles war ganz wunderbar. Wir haben die Atmosphere, unser Zimmer und das Frühstück sehr genossen. Sonderwünsche waren überhaupt kein Problem!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrea0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

Stayed for 2 nights - room was very nicely appointed. Very quiet at night as location was just out of town.
Thought parking would be a problem, but plenty of street parking available.
Breakfast was superb. Would definitely recommend this place - we stay in a lot of B&B's and this was definitely one of the best.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OharaKent_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

We came to stay to celebrate a 40th birthday and our 13th wedding anniversary and the weather was wet wet wet! Jill and Richard are both a cute couple and wonderful hosts, the hotel was neat and tidy and we stayed in a generous sized room with an en-suite. Location is great being 5 minutes walk to town, though we didn't get to the front due to the weather.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxcat70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We've stayed in many B&Bs in Paignton through the years, and haven't found one we'd want to stay in again, until now! St. Marguerite was very well decorated, with plush new carpet in our room (number 1) which is great when you've got little crawlers. Beds were comfortable and furniture all looked new. Breakfast was FAB, and like the rest of the B&B, had posh little touches like mini Lurpak butters, wonderful homemade blackcurrant jam, fresh fruit salad and juice, and high standard full English. Room 1 opens right onto a small garden through french doors. Towels were lovely and thick, unusual for a B&B! Very cosy, well-decorated lounge with massive telly and good music selection.

Only downsides would be a small bathroom (but it was en-suite) and driveway parking was on a slope, so we parked across the street.

All in all, a fantastic, comfortable B&B with friendly (but non-intrusive) owners and modern amenities. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berkshire-Bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.9 mi away
Beaches B and B
Beaches B and B
#11 of 96 in Paignton
155 reviews
1.2 mi away
Channel View Hotel
Channel View Hotel
#38 of 96 in Paignton
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Brelade
San Brelade
#48 of 96 in Paignton
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sonachan House
Sonachan House
#6 of 96 in Paignton
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
St Edmunds Guest House
St Edmunds Guest House
#12 of 96 in Paignton
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Marguerite Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Marguerite Guest House

Address: 3 The Riviera, Paignton TQ4 5EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: £65 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St Marguerite Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly located in Torbay between Paignton and Goodrington Sands, St Marguerite is an oasis of tranquility, offering a warm welcome, clean, smartly decorated rooms, and good home-cooked food using local items whenever possible. Our rooms come with en-suite bathrooms, tea & coffee making facilities, digital flat screen TV with Freeview TV and radio channels, integral DVD/CD player and MP3 port, free WiFi and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your St Marguerite Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marguerite Hotel
St Marguerite Guest House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing