We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
20
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
4
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Having never visited this area before, we were made to feel at home the moment we stepped through the door. Paul and Miranda are great hosts and a credit to their profession. The breakfasts were of high quality, the rooms immaculate which means we will be back again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevor s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Very friendly reception on arrival and was met with an immaculate room with good facilities. The breakfasts were imagainative , well presented and superb value for money.

Location was good and an easy fifteen minute stroll into the town centre; local information and brochures were readily available from the owners with information also left in the room.

Recommended for a pleasant , relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We booked the Culverden for a weekend trip to the Torbay area. Paul met us at the door and we were quickly shown our room. I could not fault the cleanliness of the room, or the rest of the property. Miranda and Paul are great hosts and produced an excellent breakfast for us in the mornings. They are a great couple who obviously try very hard to please their guests, We had one little niggle which we rather jokingly spoke to Paul about as we left. He was quite concerned about it, and by the time we had returned home there was an e-mail from Miranda thanking us for pointing it out and assuring us that it would be changed first thing in the morning. The location is superb, the quality is excellent and I can thoroughly recommend the Culverden to anybody looking for a stay in Torbay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hankertonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Great value for money Guest House with very friendly owners. Great location and possibly the best full English Breakfast I have ever had.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
Thank James469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed at Culverden for a couple of nights over the Jubilee bank holiday weekend. Overall, we thought it was great value for money - why? - Culverden is virtually on the beach front, Miranda and Paul deliver a great personable and friendly service. There are many B&B's within spitting distance of Culverden, but the premium rates you'd end up paying isn't worth it, simply because Culverden offer a superb alternative for an affordable rate. In addition, their breakfast offering is flexible and delicious, their rooms are clean and comfortable and the town centre is a short walk - less than 10 minutes.
Our only negative comment would be, the showers lacked a bit of force - no big deal to be honest, we'd stay their again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MistryMistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews