We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Preston Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Preston Sands Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Paignton
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Preston Sands Hotel in August and our experience was less than satisfactory. We were woken in the middle of the night by a bleeping fire exit alarm right outside our room at 1am and were not offered a discount for the inconvenience of a poor nights sleep, which is offered by other well know establishments. We went to use the showers and there was no hot water initially because everyone had used the hot water, so we were told we would have to wait a while which further delayed our day. Our customer service experience was not great, although some of the waiters and waitresses were friendly. The only real redeeming feature of this B&B is the sea view rooms. To summarise: if you come here with low expectations, then you'll probably be happy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    86
    27
    24
    28
See reviews for
38
115
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

came back from the preston sands hotel with interchoice had a bril 3 days hotel right on the front food entertainment and staff were bril thanks to dan and danny for making our stay so good and looking after us all

Room Tip: one on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer1950186332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed at The Preston Sands from Friday 28th June until Sun 30th, 2 adults, for a weekend away from it all.

The position is excellent, literally on the sea front, the view from the terrace was lovely, overlooking Torquay harbour to the left, Paignton pier and further off to the right, Brixham.

Ample parking out front of the hotel and even better, the roadway is free to park all day too. So different to Bournemouth, where we live, a refreshing change.

The reception are is clean and functional and I was keen to meet the manager, Clayton, whom I had seen mentioned on Tripadvisor previously.

We checked in with no fuss and was advised that breakfast was at 0830, 1 sitting. We had room 25 on the first floor and jolly nicely turned out it was too. We then noticed the railway line adjacent to our window, however, not too much of a panic as the train that ran along the line was only 2 carriages long so no real problem. I must say that the bed was the noisiest I have ever sleep in, every time you moved, it was so loud, we ended up just laughing about it in the end.
The shower was great, nice and powerful, but when we reported the bathroom light having blown, the manager told me that the handyman had just gone so it'll have to wait until Sunday morning.

The bar was functional, total despair was averted as I saw the only draught cider was Blackthorn (cack!) but they stocked Magners in bottles (Phew). Nice and airey overlooking the sea. Bar prices very good for a hotel.

We got down for Breakfast Saturday morning at 10 to 9 and I asked what time breakfast finished to be told that it's nearly finished, I told you it was 1 sitting. We went in, the waiter was really welcoming and said we could still have a full English, but we felt a bit naughty so I settled for a Sausage butty and coffee. Very efficient service. The Gazebo/ dining room was very warm as the weather was brilliant.

We chatted to Clayton and he gave us directions restaurants etc and on the whole I found him to be a nice guy, I think that maybe at breakfast times he may get a little stressy, but other than that he's a nice guy.

Sunday morning we had the fire alarm go off at 0650 but when I went downstairs there was no one there, no screams or burning flesh smell, so I guessed that all was well and went back upstairs ready for 0830 breakfast!! lol

Proper breakfast this time, very pleasant waitress served us, great service and tasty food. They have it off to a fine art in the kitchen, so fair play to them. Again almost too warm in the dining room due to the sun coming through.

We had a great time at The Preston Sands Hotel, alright, a few irritants but all in all for what it is, its great.
We will book again.

Room Tip: Rear rooms have a railway line outside the window, but you hardly notice this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevnDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

The wife and I wanted a break not to far from home for a few days, and so took the chance on an add in the local paper. I read a lot of the reviews and was apprehensive off what to expect. It was far better than we expected and suprised it does not have 3 stars. The entertainment was lacking, but we were out and about, so did'nt bother us. Food good, very polite staff and the manager seem'd to be OK. I would think if one was trying it on with him, he would stand his ground and not be two faced. Great sea view from the room we had, but perhaps it would have been a another story if we were in the back with the railway. Out of the front door, cross a service road and your on the beach. Plenty of places to visit and is ideal for a base to travel about

Room Tip: Ask if a front room available at time of booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

we were on coach holiday,things were bad on coach hoped for good hotel,how wrong were we.hotel were told we used wheelchair .there was no ramp only steps into hotel,rooms small and tired looking.nice view of rail lines (sure i could have done high five with driver).meals were basic often not cooked very well,if 5 minutes late for first course were told could not have it.wheelchair was kept in disabled toilet along with baby highchair.long walk to town but found taxi,s not expensive.would never go back and would tell others not to go here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lin14-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Good point, hotel in good position. Bad points, Manager that was obviously lacking in people skills as we checked in, the room was dated but clean, no complimentary biscuits with your tea, have to pay which is a little mean! Regimented breakfast, everyone down at 8.30! Have stayed in many B&B's while visiting relatives in Paignton and will defiantly not be coming back to this one.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

we where on a coach holiday weekend ,the hotel was nice had a seaview ,could hear the sea splashing outside our window it was that close.our room was nicely furnished ,the food was nice to.the only moan was it was a bit far out of town if you hadn't got your car with you.Had a trip on a steam train to Dartmouth that's well worth a visit .couldn't fault the weekend

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juneallsop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
1.2 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 18 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 18 in Paignton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
1.0 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#15 of 18 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preston Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preston Sands Hotel

Property: Preston Sands Hotel
Address: Marine Parade, Sea Front | Preston, Paignton TQ3 2NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Preston Sands Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly hotel, short walk to all the local amenities. Lift access to all floors. Bed and Breakfast included on all bookings but evening meal can be booked as officially we are a hotel. 24 Hour check in service available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Preston Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preston Sands Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing