We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to come home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Preston Sands Hotel
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Didn't want to come home”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We've just got back from a tinsel & turkey 4 day break at this very pleasant hotel. Clayton and his team run a very well organised, friendly hotel overlooking the bay with stunning views, nothing was too much trouble. Every day there was a little surprise for everyone staying there, the food was excellent served by Briony our smashing waitress in a very bright welcoming restaurant. The bar area was modern and clean with very reasonable bar prices, my husband and brother in law took advantage of the £2 house doubles every night!!! Brian the barman was so friendly, it felt like we'd known him for years at the end of our trip, even if he didnt call the right numbers at the bingo. We particularly enjoyed the 'boxing night' entertainment with 'mrs santa' Terry, and Clayton outshone himself by joining in so much, taking part and making sure everyone had a thoroughly good time. It makes such a difference when people go the extra mile, the other entertainment was also excellent on the other evenings.
If there was one thing I would suggest it would be a new staircase up to the first floor as they are very narrow steps and steep, although there is a lift to both floors, so no real problem. We are already planning to return again in the Spring. Cant wait....

Room Tip: All the front facing rooms have wonderful views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janny73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    91
    29
    24
    28
See reviews for
40
117
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

i would like to thank clayton and sue and all staff at preston sands hotel,i had a great 4nights staying with you,,room was lovely food very good..
great entertainment on 3 nights ....
brian the bar man was great they couldnt do enough for me while i was staying there..clayton
very helpful with helping me with my medication delivery..and emma on reception couldnt do enough when i phoned for help ty
would definatly stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We have just returned from a Turkey Tinsel break at Preston Sands . 47 of us and a (guide) dog went by coach (long journey) from the local W.M.Club. We had a fantastic time. Staff were all attentive and welcoming. Entertainment at night was good, especially ? Diamond (not Neil). He was excellent !!
Our room was a family room on the 2nd floor (no.11). It was fabulous ,overlooking sea and Paignton pier, Brixham and Torquay in the distance. I spent every morning sitting by the window watching the sun rise. Room was very clean and spacious as was the bathroom.
Food was good with a varied menu and choice. Chef even prepared me a separate meal one day due to an allergy to one of the ingredients ,even though there were other choices. Waiting staff were friendly and helpful. Our waitress, Shannon, was a little treasure.
All the staff worked hard so many thanks to you all xxx

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are brilliant . Some double rooms have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mackfamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just returned from a 2 day coach break with 45 family and friends to celebrate our 30th Wedding anniversary, well what can i say we had a fantastic time no complaints about this hotel at all, the staff including the manager Brian standing in for Clayton is a lovely man who could not do enough for us, Guy (thats his name) behind the bar worked his socks off too, all the restaurant staff were really lovely too and the food was fabulous and plentiful, the rooms are really clean and the views from the front of the hotel are amazing. We will definately be returning to this hotel, a big thank you to Emma and Clayton for helping us to organize this very memorable trip.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glp312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
great yarmouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Terrific meals. Staff really attentive and quick. Smiling and helpful.
Management friendly and cheerful. We had a really happy stay.
Railway outside window didn't worry us at all. Hardly aware of the trains after the first one.
Do like we do and get some earplugs if you don't like creaking floorboards or noise of any kind.
We all slept like logs.

Thanks everyone at the Preston x

Room Tip: Ask for seaview rooms; but not really necessary if going out and about as onlty for sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jovaglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A weekend coach trip with a stay at Preston sands and it was very enjoyable. We were lucky to have a sea view room with a balcony so with the lovely weather we had this was fantastic. All staff were friendly and helpful and some of them waved us off when our coach left. Food was fine and a varied choice to select from. Our room was comfortable, clean and cosy, en suite room and if we did have a problem we thought the bathroom needed a new loo as flushing and filling of cistern was a bit of a problem. We were not disturbed by any noise from other rooms and the evening music in the bar finished at a reasonable time. It was a pleasure being able to walk out of the hotel and you were by the sea. Although our coach suffered a few problems this did not spoil a lovely weekend. This hotel is a 2 star, so do not understand the moans about it, Preston Sands is good value for money.

Room Tip: Front rooms having amazing views over the bay and some have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
great Yarmouth. Norfolk.England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

hi folks, With trepidation my wife and i decided to book a Friday to Monday coach trip to Preston sands Hotel. Our first coach tour . we did have a wee bit of trouble with the coach but in all sincerity could not fault the hotel . The situation was lovely , probably the best part of the bay, The beds were very comfy, the staff were excellent and the meals were spot on. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone. Admittedly some of the rooms backed on to the railway lines. We actually had one of them . Did it put us off ?? no not one bit. The trains didn't make much noise at all.If this was all the people had to complain about then they should get a life.Any hotel facing the sea has one side that doesn't. This was a really lovely holiday and we would definitely go back to this hotel .Thanks to all for making it a lovely break

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apsinger-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
1.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
312 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
475 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
508 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preston Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preston Sands Hotel

Property: Preston Sands Hotel
Address: Marine Parade, Sea Front | Preston, Paignton TQ3 2NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Preston Sands Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly hotel, short walk to all the local amenities. Lift access to all floors. Bed and Breakfast included on all bookings but evening meal can be booked as officially we are a hotel. 24 Hour check in service available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Preston Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preston Sands Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing