We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You for another lovely holiday”
Review of Summerhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Summerhill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I have been visiting Summerhil several times a year for the last 12 years. Always a lovely holiday no matter what the weather is like. Lovely clean and bright rooms. Good position close to beach. Wonderful views of sea during breakfast. Food superb both for breakfast and evening meals. I look forward to my visits next year.

Room Tip: I personally like the rooms with balconies. Lovely to sit out with a coffee
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helibug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2011

Easy to find with plenty of car parking, especially for Paignton. Very near to Goodrington Sands and the park with its boating lake and wonderful views from the restaurant. A well cooked breakfast is offered with plenty of choice and it's served to you by friendly and efficient staff. The Hotel it's self is a very attractive building with much character, the room we had was fine with an exeptionally comfortable mattress with a good en-suite bathroom. Debbie, the owner was very obliging and nothing seemed to be too much trouble, we will certainly try and book when next time we visit family in Paignton.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sladesbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

From the moment we arrived at Summerhill and were greeted with a warm and genuine welcome. we were very impressed with the customer service and facilities of the hotel. The room was spotlessly clean, the breakfasts were excellent and every member of the staff were unfailingly helpful and friendly.
As a regular business traveller, I am very aware that this high level of service is all too rare in the hospitality sector. 42 years of running this establishment has not diminished the owner´s enthusiam one bit. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VincentBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

This is our second visit to this hotel and I cannot recommend it highly enough, thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hosts Debbie, Jose and Peter were absolutely fantastic and very very obliging. Would not stay anywhere else in Devon now and will definitely be staying there again. The food was spectacular, so our thanks go to Jose for his culinary skills, all three hosts went out of their way to make our stay most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

This hotel has panaramic views over the west side of Torbay. A very well looked after, clean hotel with various rooms at reasonable prices. The breakfast menu is excellent and dinner and small bar are also available during the evening for those visitors that choose to stay in. The staff are very pleasant, respectful and helpful. Having experienced several hotels in the Torbay area over recent years, I would highly recommend this hotel as one of our favourites. The best recommendation?.... We will be going back and booking early!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TandJ186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

I am an Italian woman. I went in Paington from 8 August to 22 August. I spent there 15 days studying English. I came there alone and I would say thank you for the friendly and kindly hospitality that I was given during my staying. I felt myself at home! Breakfast was really fantastic, too!!! And the hotel was so quiet !!! Great !!! Thank you for all with my heart!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROBERTA71_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

The staff are all friendly and helpfull in this family run business nothing is too much trouble; the breakfasts are excellent with a good choice - a real set you up for the day meal! The rooms are clean and tidy with on suite bathrooms and tea / coffee making facilities, which, are replenished each day. We had initially booked for severn days but were so impressed we extended our stay for a few more days. The resturant serves good quality food freshly prepared with again excellent service; We would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howard1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.7 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 17 in Paignton
635 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
555 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#7 of 17 in Paignton
420 reviews
1.2 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill Hotel

Address: 2 Braeside Road, Paignton TQ4 6BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paignton
#1 Family Hotel in Paignton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
Price Range: £101 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Summerhill Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian detached building set on its own grounds close to harbour, park and beach. Summerhill offers high standard of accommodation and profesional friendly service. Ample Free car parking,level access, ground floor rooms, lift, bar. Only 10 min walk from Paignton train station & town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Summerhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerhill Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing