We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Summerhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Summerhill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2012

From arrival to departure nothing was too much trouble for Debbie, Jose & Peter.

The rooms were spotless, as was the rest of the hotel.

Due to a recent illness my mother had little appetite, however Jose went the extra mile to tempt her to eat (and it worked)

I can heartily recommend the Huevas Rancheros for breakfast. If you take the evening meal you will be spoilt for choice.

This is definately somewhere to return time and time again

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and found the staff very friendly and accommodating. Very nice homely feel to the place with the lounge and bar area. Great views and very useful being so close to the beach, plus an easy walk into town (10 minutes max). Rooms could do with a little updating but very clean and nice touches like bottled water with the tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast was very good and nothing was too much trouble. Overall - very good and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed here for one night. Met a very friendly member of staff on arrival who was really helpful in explaining a bit about the local area and even recommended some good places to go.
The hotel was clean, great service and the breakfast very nice.
My only complaint would be that the room and corridors appear a little antiquated, having said that it was very comfortable and suited my needs. I also thought the price was very reasonable for a location so close to the sea. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tsimon85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This is the 3rd time myself and my Mom have stayed at the hotel over the last 4 years on a B&B basis when we go to visit family. The cleanliness and service are as good as the 1st time we stayed. Staff are all very friendly and the room was adequate for a two night stay. The dining area is lovely over looking the sea and the hotel is in a brilliant location for Goodrington and Paignton. The bus stops are a short walk away.The traditional breakfast is fantastic !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We recently spent 5 days there on a B & B basis. A really lovely family run hotel. Everyone was very attentive and helpful. Fabulous breakfasts! Had to stop eating the standard traditional - too much for me! .Try TJ's restaurant overlooking the harbour for your evening meal. A short walk from the hotel and reasonable prices. Great selection of Tapas and nice people.

Room Tip: We had a standard double room with balcony on the first floor. Not a great view from the balcony but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I liked to stay in Paignton in a small and nice hotel with friendly staff people.
300 meter from the sea.
Room was very comfortable for my needs, food is top quality, and people is very kind.
The room was a little bit small, but for one week ....
Excellent breakfast and a good looking bar.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lars m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed in the Summerhill Hotel for two nights. It was a quiet hotel, a short walk down hill to Goodrington beach and a ten minute walk to Paignton beach. The hotel staff were very welcoming and provided a very good level of service. The breakfast was extensive and very well presented. Although we did feel 9.15 finish for breakfast was too early. The dining area is large and bright , with lovely views. There is also an outside area that you can sit and drink
your coffee. We had a pleasant stay at Summer Hill hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherie186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.9 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
411 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
600 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
540 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
588 reviews
1.2 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill Hotel

Address: 2 Braeside Road, Paignton TQ4 6BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paignton
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#1 Family Hotel in Paignton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
Price Range: £100 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Summerhill Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian detached building set on its own grounds close to harbour, park and beach. Summerhill offers high standard of accommodation and profesional friendly service. Ample Free car parking,level access, ground floor rooms, lift, bar. Only 10 min walk from Paignton train station & town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Summerhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerhill Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing