We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Summerhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Summerhill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This was my first time stay at this hotel but it won't be my last. I am going to be travelling down this way on business several times a year and Summerhill will be my hotel of choice. Great accommodation with good ensuite facilities. Everything was spotless. The food was especially good with beautiful views from the dining room across the bay. The staff were very friendly indeed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    56
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
188
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2012

From arrival to departure nothing was too much trouble for Debbie, Jose & Peter.

The rooms were spotless, as was the rest of the hotel.

Due to a recent illness my mother had little appetite, however Jose went the extra mile to tempt her to eat (and it worked)

I can heartily recommend the Huevas Rancheros for breakfast. If you take the evening meal you will be spoilt for choice.

This is definately somewhere to return time and time again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and found the staff very friendly and accommodating. Very nice homely feel to the place with the lounge and bar area. Great views and very useful being so close to the beach, plus an easy walk into town (10 minutes max). Rooms could do with a little updating but very clean and nice touches like bottled water with the tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast was very good and nothing was too much trouble. Overall - very good and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saitama Prefecture, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed here for one night. Met a very friendly member of staff on arrival who was really helpful in explaining a bit about the local area and even recommended some good places to go.
The hotel was clean, great service and the breakfast very nice.
My only complaint would be that the room and corridors appear a little antiquated, having said that it was very comfortable and suited my needs. I also thought the price was very reasonable for a location so close to the sea. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsimon85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This is the 3rd time myself and my Mom have stayed at the hotel over the last 4 years on a B&B basis when we go to visit family. The cleanliness and service are as good as the 1st time we stayed. Staff are all very friendly and the room was adequate for a two night stay. The dining area is lovely over looking the sea and the hotel is in a brilliant location for Goodrington and Paignton. The bus stops are a short walk away.The traditional breakfast is fantastic !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarcroft, Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We recently spent 5 days there on a B & B basis. A really lovely family run hotel. Everyone was very attentive and helpful. Fabulous breakfasts! Had to stop eating the standard traditional - too much for me! .Try TJ's restaurant overlooking the harbour for your evening meal. A short walk from the hotel and reasonable prices. Great selection of Tapas and nice people.

Room Tip: We had a standard double room with balcony on the first floor. Not a great view from the balcony but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I liked to stay in Paignton in a small and nice hotel with friendly staff people.
300 meter from the sea.
Room was very comfortable for my needs, food is top quality, and people is very kind.
The room was a little bit small, but for one week ....
Excellent breakfast and a good looking bar.
Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lars m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.7 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
543 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
392 reviews
1.3 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#8 of 17 in Paignton
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill Hotel

Property: Summerhill Hotel
Address: 2 Braeside Road, Paignton TQ4 6BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paignton
#1 Family Hotel in Paignton
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Summerhill Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian detached building set on its own grounds close to harbour, park and beach. Summerhill offers high standard of accommodation and profesional friendly service. Ample Free car parking,level access, ground floor rooms, lift, bar. Only 10 min walk from Paignton train station & town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Summerhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerhill Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing