We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay”
Review of Summerhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Summerhill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Spur of the moment booking. Have not stayed here before, but would highly recommend it. We were made very welcome the rooms were well presented and clean. The breakfast would keep an army going all day!!. Will use again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

A big thank U to all the staff for making our holiday good will come back places as nice as this are hard to find ,good views of the beach, rooms very clean and bed comfy all we can say is if U want a good holiday come here U won't b disappointedx

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandy mcevoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just got back from 2 night break at this lovely hotel.
The staff are very friendly, the rooms are very clean and lovely comfy bed.
We arrived at 8.30am on Saturday after 2 1/2 hour down, only to be asked if we would like breakfast, so we did.
The food we had was lovely.
There is nothing at fault with hotel, we would go back again.
Thank you all for making the time with you enjoyable.
Vanessa and Dennis Bowsher, Hungerford Berks

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The double room we stayed in was comfortable and has a balcony looking onto the car-park side of the hotel. The staff are friendly and courteous and the breakfasts are excellent with a good choice on the menu.
The dining area/ bar area has a lovely outlook towards the sea. The bar is relaxed and is a nice place to have an evening drink and to enjoy the outlook.
Thanks to staff at Summerhill for making it a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele25W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Just come back after a 2 night stay at this Beautiful hotel. Very nice place, staff were lovely and very helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Would stay again. Paignton is a beautiful place and lots of places to eat. Visit Torquay that is a great place too.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Lovely rooms, lovely staff and great location. Food was excellent - dinner and breakfast. Girls working in the restaurant were very friendly and accommodating - nothing was too much trouble. Ample tea/coffee provisions in the room. Wished we could have stayed for longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Really pleased we picked this hotel to stay at when celebrating my husband's 50th birthday. When we arrived we were shown into a room with comfortable sofas and chairs and offered teas/coffees before we were shown to our room -this was a really nice touch and so much better than having to make a drink ourselves once in our room. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable - we both slept well despite it being the hottest weekend of the year! We didn't use it but the room with drinks and an honesty box for when the bar was closed was a good idea too. My husband has a good appetite but even he found the full English too much - he needed the walk to Brixham to walk it off. Location really good - 5 minutes to beach and a ten minute walk into town. Staff were all professional and friendly. Couldn't ask for more. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.9 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
411 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
602 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
543 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
590 reviews
1.2 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill Hotel

Address: 2 Braeside Road, Paignton TQ4 6BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paignton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#1 Business Hotel in Paignton
Price Range: £99 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Summerhill Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian detached building set on its own grounds close to harbour, park and beach. Summerhill offers high standard of accommodation and profesional friendly service. Ample Free car parking,level access, ground floor rooms, lift, bar. Only 10 min walk from Paignton train station & town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Summerhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerhill Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing