We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great food and clean too”
Review of Summerhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Summerhill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

stopped for three nights over the recent bank holiday. First time visitors made to feel like old friends. great service, really extensive breakfast choice and the evening menu is great too. More people should eat there. Our room was comfortable with a very good shower, flat screen TV and plenty of tea/coffee. Off street parking, sunny deck, quiet garden...can't fault the place, it even has a lift for those less mobile.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webBorehamwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just spent a week at the Summerhill (our first visit). A lovely family run hotel, with good food and facilities. Would definitely recommend to family and friends and would like to return the next time we're in Torbay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyProton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Spur of the moment booking. Have not stayed here before, but would highly recommend it. We were made very welcome the rooms were well presented and clean. The breakfast would keep an army going all day!!. Will use again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

A big thank U to all the staff for making our holiday good will come back places as nice as this are hard to find ,good views of the beach, rooms very clean and bed comfy all we can say is if U want a good holiday come here U won't b disappointedx

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandy mcevoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just got back from 2 night break at this lovely hotel.
The staff are very friendly, the rooms are very clean and lovely comfy bed.
We arrived at 8.30am on Saturday after 2 1/2 hour down, only to be asked if we would like breakfast, so we did.
The food we had was lovely.
There is nothing at fault with hotel, we would go back again.
Thank you all for making the time with you enjoyable.
Vanessa and Dennis Bowsher, Hungerford Berks

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The double room we stayed in was comfortable and has a balcony looking onto the car-park side of the hotel. The staff are friendly and courteous and the breakfasts are excellent with a good choice on the menu.
The dining area/ bar area has a lovely outlook towards the sea. The bar is relaxed and is a nice place to have an evening drink and to enjoy the outlook.
Thanks to staff at Summerhill for making it a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele25W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Just come back after a 2 night stay at this Beautiful hotel. Very nice place, staff were lovely and very helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Would stay again. Paignton is a beautiful place and lots of places to eat. Visit Torquay that is a great place too.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.7 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 17 in Paignton
634 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
551 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#12 of 17 in Paignton
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill Hotel

Address: 2 Braeside Road, Paignton TQ4 6BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paignton
#1 Family Hotel in Paignton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
Price Range: £100 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Summerhill Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian detached building set on its own grounds close to harbour, park and beach. Summerhill offers high standard of accommodation and profesional friendly service. Ample Free car parking,level access, ground floor rooms, lift, bar. Only 10 min walk from Paignton train station & town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Summerhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerhill Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing