We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”
Review of Summerhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Summerhill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were visiting relatives nearby, stayed for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Nice room with balcony. Breakfast was excellent each day, and we enjoyed one evening meal. Very friendly and interesting owners, who obviously take great pride in their hotel. We would certainly return when next in Paignton.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed for work, for 1 night, and was disappointed with my experience. I had a warm welcome, but from then on was made to feel like an inconvenience. I hadn't booked and ordered my dinner at breakfast, so may not be able to have dinner (I had just checked in) The food was very old fashioned, large portions on 70's china. The whole house is geared to an older clientèle, with a very soft bed, and a tired bathroom. It was clean, and tidy with free WiFi, but not enough to make me want to stay again. At breakfast, I was seated in a side room, I had to order everything with the staff, and without a menu, and it all felt very old fashioned, and with a very B&B attitude. Would recommend to my grandparents, but definitely not if you want a swift business hotel, where you are in and out, without much hassle.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelbunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

A very clean and comfortable hotel. We got a warm welcome and an excellent cooked breakfast. The bathroom was great with an excellent shower. I visit Paignton often and will not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRAHAMK1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here accompanied by my disabled mother and we spent a most enjoyable few days. The family and staff were very welcoming and we were given 5 star treatment throughout. The breakfast was superb as were the evening meals. Fine dining without a doubt. The room was very comfortable, well equipped and with a lovely view of the bay. The bathroom was modern and with a powerful shower. Plenty of car parking and with disabled facilities in the ground floor rooms. Very pleasant lounge rooms to relax in. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xcpoct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My wife and I decided for the Summerhill Hotel because of its Victorian character. We were warmly welcomed, had a nice and tidy room with balcony with view to the bay, the food was excellent, breakfast enough for the whole day, dinner very tasteful, the family and all their helpers very warm and attentive. All in all: next time we happen to be in this part of the UK, we´ll try to get a room at the Summerhill hotel again!

Room Tip: Top floor with view to the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChWrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Definitely makes a change from modern look-alike impersonal hotels. This hotel has generally retained its Victorian character which means it could be called old fashioned. This is a good or bad feature depending on your taste. The owners are very welcoming and anxious to please, rooms are clean and tidy but maybe now appearing a little tired. We stayed in room 7 with a balcony but, being part of the restaurant's walled roof it did not do the word balcony justice, no view when seated. Would not bother in future but that in no way detracts from the overall good experience. Breakfast is really good, excellent choice, quality and quantity. Didn't need to eat for the rest of the day. Location is good with nearby beach walking distance albeit something of an uphill climb back!

Room Tip: Specify a sea view if it's what you want, most rooms do not have one. See review about balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thetechpub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

the room was excellent nice large tv
fantastic breakfast
lovely family service would recommend all year round
excellent tea and coffee and bottle water in room
the hotel is situated on a hill some rooms overlooking the bay plenty parking very nice experience
i live in hotels every week through work and this is up there in my top 10
its the customer service that helps makes this small family run hotel excel

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim0042013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.7 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
606 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
414 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
547 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill Hotel

Address: 2 Braeside Road, Paignton TQ4 6BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#1 Family Hotel in Paignton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
#1 Business Hotel in Paignton
Price Range: £101 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Summerhill Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian detached building set on its own grounds close to harbour, park and beach. Summerhill offers high standard of accommodation and profesional friendly service. Ample Free car parking,level access, ground floor rooms, lift, bar. Only 10 min walk from Paignton train station & town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Summerhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerhill Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing