We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”
Review of Summerhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Summerhill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We were again made very welcome at this pleasant hotel on a recent birthday visit. We had a very nice room with a balcony, and an excellent breakfast. The owners are very friendly and it's located in a very convenient and pleasant location. Highly recommended. If you're heading for Paignton, look no further.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon61049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

We had a very good welcome . Shown around the hotel and taken to the room .The breakfasts were very good and asked how we like them .And the evening meal was very good (the best steak we have had for a long time) The room was very clean and tidy and the en-suite was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joserios, Owner at Summerhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review – it’s much appreciated.
So glad you enjoyed the steaks. Look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were visiting relatives nearby, stayed for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Nice room with balcony. Breakfast was excellent each day, and we enjoyed one evening meal. Very friendly and interesting owners, who obviously take great pride in their hotel. We would certainly return when next in Paignton.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed for work, for 1 night, and was disappointed with my experience. I had a warm welcome, but from then on was made to feel like an inconvenience. I hadn't booked and ordered my dinner at breakfast, so may not be able to have dinner (I had just checked in) The food was very old fashioned, large portions on 70's china. The whole house is geared to an older clientèle, with a very soft bed, and a tired bathroom. It was clean, and tidy with free WiFi, but not enough to make me want to stay again. At breakfast, I was seated in a side room, I had to order everything with the staff, and without a menu, and it all felt very old fashioned, and with a very B&B attitude. Would recommend to my grandparents, but definitely not if you want a swift business hotel, where you are in and out, without much hassle.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelbunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

A very clean and comfortable hotel. We got a warm welcome and an excellent cooked breakfast. The bathroom was great with an excellent shower. I visit Paignton often and will not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRAHAMK1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here accompanied by my disabled mother and we spent a most enjoyable few days. The family and staff were very welcoming and we were given 5 star treatment throughout. The breakfast was superb as were the evening meals. Fine dining without a doubt. The room was very comfortable, well equipped and with a lovely view of the bay. The bathroom was modern and with a powerful shower. Plenty of car parking and with disabled facilities in the ground floor rooms. Very pleasant lounge rooms to relax in. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xcpoct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My wife and I decided for the Summerhill Hotel because of its Victorian character. We were warmly welcomed, had a nice and tidy room with balcony with view to the bay, the food was excellent, breakfast enough for the whole day, dinner very tasteful, the family and all their helpers very warm and attentive. All in all: next time we happen to be in this part of the UK, we´ll try to get a room at the Summerhill hotel again!

Room Tip: Top floor with view to the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChWrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.7 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
628 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
418 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
551 reviews
5.4 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill Hotel

Address: 2 Braeside Road, Paignton TQ4 6BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paignton
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#1 Family Hotel in Paignton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
Price Range: £99 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Summerhill Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian detached building set on its own grounds close to harbour, park and beach. Summerhill offers high standard of accommodation and profesional friendly service. Ample Free car parking,level access, ground floor rooms, lift, bar. Only 10 min walk from Paignton train station & town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Summerhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerhill Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing