We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, excellent service”
Review of Summerhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Summerhill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Friendly staff, excellent service”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed for a week on holiday - the hotel is located a little away from the centre of town (5 minutes walk, although with a fairly steep hill between the hotel and the front) which means it's very peaceful but may be a little problem for those with less mobility.

The room was small but perfectly comfortable and clean, with all the expected amenities. What makes this place particularly shine though is the staff, who were friendly and seemed really to care that I enjoyed my stay, brimming with advice about the best places to eat and things to do in the area without ever being obtrusive or annoying - I knew I was on to a good thing when I was offered a cup of tea pretty much as i crossed the threshold.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    56
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
64
188
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We booked direct through the hotel's website, it was quick, easy and no hassle. Our room was beautifully decorated and very clean. The staff were more than accommodating. We had a great time. We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Recommend paying a wee bit extra for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAR3190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaduz, Liechtenstein
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. The room was very clean and tidy.
We enjoyed the very good and rich breakfast.
The owners are very friendly and helpfull.
We will come again.It's a very nice place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

A perfect easter break, simply brilliant hotel, staff & food. Breakfasts were brilliant and served exactly as you requested, as were the evening meals and service. A must to try is the steak it is most certainly the best steak you ll ever have. The owners are great as is the location and hotel and the view is to dye for. Will definitely be staying here again just wish it could be tomorrow

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We were again made very welcome at this pleasant hotel on a recent birthday visit. We had a very nice room with a balcony, and an excellent breakfast. The owners are very friendly and it's located in a very convenient and pleasant location. Highly recommended. If you're heading for Paignton, look no further.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon61049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We had a very good welcome . Shown around the hotel and taken to the room .The breakfasts were very good and asked how we like them .And the evening meal was very good (the best steak we have had for a long time) The room was very clean and tidy and the en-suite was very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joserios, Owner at Summerhill Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review – it’s much appreciated.
So glad you enjoyed the steaks. Look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were visiting relatives nearby, stayed for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Nice room with balcony. Breakfast was excellent each day, and we enjoyed one evening meal. Very friendly and interesting owners, who obviously take great pride in their hotel. We would certainly return when next in Paignton.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.7 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
538 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#7 of 17 in Paignton
391 reviews
1.3 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill Hotel

Property: Summerhill Hotel
Address: 2 Braeside Road, Paignton TQ4 6BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#1 Family Hotel in Paignton
#1 Business Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Summerhill Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian detached building set on its own grounds close to harbour, park and beach. Summerhill offers high standard of accommodation and profesional friendly service. Ample Free car parking,level access, ground floor rooms, lift, bar. Only 10 min walk from Paignton train station & town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Summerhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerhill Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing