We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful journey”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Summerhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Summerhill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“A beautiful journey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed in hotel summerhill for 2 weeks. Im from germany, I was there to visit a language school in Paingnton.
I enjoyed my stay in Hotel summerhill very much. The rooms are very nice and very clean.
The view is wunderfull and around the hotel is a beauty garden.
The owner are very kind and attentive.
I would come back!

Room Tip: I was in room number 9, a wunderfull room.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma_Muh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    50
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
56
167
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

It's always good to feel it is a family opening their doors for you and not just staff. The rooms were very comfortable and well fitted out. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice. Location was spot on. Our only regret was that family commitments stopped us tasting what looked a tempting dinner menu and some serious temptations behind the bar.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Now a favourite haunt of mine this hotel is just so welcoming. Have just enjoyed another 5 nights at the Summerhill hotel after an 18 month delay. Noticed they had done some internal improvement, but found out this had partly been forced on them by the winter weather. Ate in 2 evenings and was treated to food I really enjoyed.
From me, this is highly recommended.

Room Tip: For me the single rooms are a little small, but ideal for the older child. The wifi signal seems to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here for a couple nights and were impressed with the friendly and courtious staff we met. The rooms are clean, comfortable and a good size. However, this is an old hotel and the docor is a bit tired and dated. Breakfast was excellent and all in all it was very good value!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed for a week on holiday - the hotel is located a little away from the centre of town (5 minutes walk, although with a fairly steep hill between the hotel and the front) which means it's very peaceful but may be a little problem for those with less mobility.

The room was small but perfectly comfortable and clean, with all the expected amenities. What makes this place particularly shine though is the staff, who were friendly and seemed really to care that I enjoyed my stay, brimming with advice about the best places to eat and things to do in the area without ever being obtrusive or annoying - I knew I was on to a good thing when I was offered a cup of tea pretty much as i crossed the threshold.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We booked direct through the hotel's website, it was quick, easy and no hassle. Our room was beautifully decorated and very clean. The staff were more than accommodating. We had a great time. We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Recommend paying a wee bit extra for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAR3190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaduz, Liechtenstein
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. The room was very clean and tidy.
We enjoyed the very good and rich breakfast.
The owners are very friendly and helpfull.
We will come again.It's a very nice place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 18 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 18 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
0.3 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 18 in Paignton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
1.3 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 18 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill Hotel

Property: Summerhill Hotel
Address: 2 Braeside Road, Paignton TQ4 6BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#1 Family Hotel in Paignton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
#1 Business Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Summerhill Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian detached building set on its own grounds close to harbour, park and beach. Summerhill offers high standard of accommodation and profesional friendly service. Ample Free car parking,level access, ground floor rooms, lift, bar. Only 10 min walk from Paignton train station & town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Summerhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerhill Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing